Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 11 Aug 2020, 02:36

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 15 Dec 2012, 16:57 
Offline

Joined: 13 Oct 2008, 07:06
Posts: 123
Under windows 8, working (independent) mode, windows maximise to their respective monitor as you would expect.

Under gaming (span) mode (aka "Span diplays with Surround") application windows (browsers, windows explorer, etc) maximise across all monitors by default. How can we get these (non game) application windows to maximise to one monitor?

Under windows 7 there are the following solutions:

Quote:
Technical Issues [Heading]. My windows maximize across all monitors [Problem]. Install the Matrox PowerDesk, and it fixes this issue [Solution].
Skipclarke, 2010-08-24, NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround FAQ

Quote:
Matrox's PowerDesk software allows windows to be maximised to an individual screen ... Nvidia Surround has now introduced this functionality with the 301 series drivers. You can maximise windows to a particular monitor which is fantastic.
AussieTimmeh, 2012-04-07, Red vs Green vs Blue V2 - How they handle 3 screens

Under windows 8 none of these solutions work for me. I'm using

* A Single ASUS (Nvidia based designed) GTX680 (one of the latest generation to support 3 screens without needing SLI). Specifially a GTX680-DC2T-2GD5
* Windows 8 64 bit Pro.
* Nvidia Drivers 306.97.

In Hope the WSGF get a 680 for review! If they do or anyone else here gets one here is my question on it! Paradigm Shifter post some screenshots (post date: 2012-03-23) of the Nvidia control panel (presumably with much earlier drivers than 306.97). The "Desktop" menu has a "Surround Displays" submenu with "Confine Taskbar to Center Display" and "Maximize Windows Across All Displays".

These are absent from my Nvidia control panel.

Could somebody else with a setup similar to mine confirm they have the same problem? Any solutions to the problem?


Last edited by john bentley on 15 Dec 2012, 17:17, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
 


PostPosted: 15 Dec 2012, 17:14 
Offline

Joined: 13 Oct 2008, 07:06
Posts: 123
Answering my own question...

On the official Nvidia forums there is Nvidia Surround on Windows 8. Many users report the same issue. One user reports the issue still not fixed in the 310.54 beta driver.

[email protected], Moderator reports
Quote:
these 2 features are still being worked on, and will be added as soon as possible.

So whether I can get a third party solution to work or not (like matrox) I think I'll just wait for the official fix, given that switching between gaminng (span/surround) mode and working (independent) mode is relatively easy.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Apr 2013, 02:26 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2011, 21:18
Posts: 34
john bentley wrote:
given that switching between gaminng (span/surround) mode and working (independent) mode is relatively easy.


How are you doing that? For me, it's a usability nightmare - a 20-some-odd step process in nVidia control panel to switch back and forth. We have a helpful post on the matter but it doesn't seem to work for me (perhaps because I'm using two cards in SLI, and they aren't plugged into a single card as I'm on the 5xx series?).


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2013, 09:14 
Offline

Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 01:51
Posts: 56
Does anybody know a fix for this yet?
Im as above, windows 8
2x GTX580's SLI Driver: 314.22

*EDIT...

Found a fix that worked for me :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ymw6D2iB-1Y

Love it when things work...


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2013, 10:52 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2009, 03:11
Posts: 1441
Glad you found a solution that works, thanks for sharing it for others.

I'm happily still in Win7 4 screens without issue, can still maximise to any window. I don't know why anyone would work in extended desktop mode anymore tbh.

_________________
i5-2500K @ 4Ghz ° Asus P8Z68 ° GTX670 Windforce OC ° 8GB DDR3 RipjawsX ° 4x Viewsonic VA2703 ° Logitech G15 / G5 / G27 ° Razer Vespula ° TrackIR 5 ° Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2013, 19:08 
Offline

Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 06:24
Posts: 5
I hope the next driver adds this feature. I just upgraded to windows 8 and didn't realize how important it was.


Top
  
 
 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group