Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 27 Sep 2020, 18:03

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 278 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 28  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 10 Aug 2015, 02:58 
Offline

Joined: 09 Aug 2015, 20:21
Posts: 2
gereghar wrote:
It doesnt work with steam version


I am currently using the v1.08 one with steam ( 1.08 was just released on steam a few days ago ) and everything is working fine for me.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 14 Aug 2015, 11:41 
Offline

Joined: 28 May 2015, 02:38
Posts: 28
New patch today, eh?

Image


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2015, 04:43 
Offline

Joined: 23 Jul 2015, 01:36
Posts: 4
Hi guys, here is the link for 1.08.1.
Always make a backup of the original version just in case.
witcher3.exe version 1.08.1

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And here is my tutorial, with original credit going to zens. I hope the explanation is clear and helpful.

I use this portable hex editor, but you can use whichever you want.
http://www.chmaas.handshake.de/delphi/f ... m#download

Backup the file before you mess at your own risk :cheers:
OK, on page 5, zens posts this tutorial image:

Image

As you can see, zens changes the floating point "398EE33F" to "CD901840"

"398EE33F" = 16:9 = 1.77778
"CD901840" = 21:9 = 2.33333

However, "CD901840" leaves small black bars on the left and right sides as seen here

Image

To fix this problem, let's look at the specs of our ultrawide
2560:1080 = 2.37037
3440:1440 = 2.38889
So it seems the correct value is closer to 2.38888 than 2.33333. The floating point for 2.38888 is "8AE31840" which I cheat by looking at zens' most recent fix. I have no idea how he convert the numerical number to floating point :(

Now open the hex editor, hit Ctrl+F and type in 55 55 15 40
Our floating point is always before this group of numbers.

Image

Then simply type in our new floating point "8AE31840"
You are done. Enjoy the game.

Image


Last edited by SaskiaAedirn on 22 Aug 2015, 16:50, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
 
PostPosted: 16 Aug 2015, 00:29 
Offline

Joined: 11 Oct 2013, 16:54
Posts: 8
SaskiaAedirn thank you very much for a more clear tut (and Zens for the original of course), works great, I appreciate it!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 16 Aug 2015, 00:30 
Offline

Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 20:39
Posts: 10
For some reason - the exe isn't working for me. Can someone upload another one?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT- I'm an idiot. I put it in the wrong folder. It works great! Thanks!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 18 Aug 2015, 22:06 
Offline

Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 14:35
Posts: 100
SaskiaAedirn, im using a debugger to convert float to hex, but there are some converter in web. http://gregstoll.dyndns.org/~gregstoll/floattohex/

it gives u a DWORD (stack size of 4byte) as output. and in plain hex line u have to reverse it. like 1234567 gets 7654321. dunno how i shall explain that now on quick.

As example here is how all this looks in runtime memory of a running process:

32 BIT FLOATING POINT:
Image

32 BIT INTEGER (4 Byte DWORD in 64bit app):
Image

HEXADECIMAL:
Image


...hope that helps a bit to understand.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 21 Aug 2015, 23:01 
Offline

Joined: 11 Jul 2013, 23:58
Posts: 2
If anyone is looking for the sequence for 2560x1080, it is 24 B4 17 40

Confirmed working on steam version 1.08.

I used CFF Explorer as Hex Editor and made 2 mistakes while trying to figure it out

1) CFF Explorer asks if I want to load first 40 mb of the file, so I did (expecting the required sequence to be in the beginning). However when I was saving, it also saved just the 1st 40 mb of the file, and the rest of it was gone, LOL. Good thing I backed up.

2) Then I misread the instructions - I thought you should replace the 55 55 15 40 with your sequence. No, you need to replace the 4 byte sequence before it!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 03 Sep 2015, 14:09 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 2015, 14:03
Posts: 42
Location: Slovakia
Hi, I'm new here. First thank you for this.

OK made my own exe using the guide here and it's working like magic :rockout:

_________________
LG 29UB67 => AOC AG352UCG6


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Sep 2015, 18:46 
Offline

Joined: 27 Mar 2015, 10:00
Posts: 27
There was a new patch today for the achievement bug, so I did a quick fix of my own! This will work for 3440x1440. Someone could test it out. If there are different values needed, I could patch them, I just need to know where to put them. Thanks to SaskiaAedirn for the tutorial to do the fix.

Edit: I tried making one for 2560x1080. Someone can try testing it below. Let me know if it works!

I also tested 3440x1440 in a cutscene, and everything worked fine.
Image


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 15 Sep 2015, 11:28 
Offline

Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 11:14
Posts: 5
PyroDonkey - I'm using the 2560x1080 version and so far it's working perfectly.
Made an account to say thank you, and awesome job to everyone in this thread. The game switching to 16:9 for cut-scenes was really breaking immersion.


Top
  
 
 [ 278 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group