WSGF

Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 13 Dec 2019, 14:00

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 27 Jun 2015, 18:28 
Offline

Joined: 29 May 2015, 04:13
Posts: 6
I've posted over in the Max Payne 3 thread about this issue but figured this would be the right place.

Max Payne 3 is a joy to play at 21:9 - that is as long as you're only counting the gameplay. Those excellent and stylish in-engine cutscenes are horizontally cropped, however.

I'm not very technical but it appears like the game is treating the single 21:9 monitor as the center screen in a triple monitor setup. Even worse, for rendered cutscenes the game plays the video in a tiny box - not using the full vertical resolution.

I'm here today asking for a solution. Can anyone figure out how to get Max Payne 3 to run correctly at 21:9? I'm talking with no compromises - Flawless Widescreen style. Please?

-SeventhWard


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 28 Jun 2015, 15:48 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 19 Dec 2011, 16:03
Posts: 556
drupalarticles: 0
drupalblogs: 0
drupaldrs: 44
SeventhWard wrote:
I've posted over in the Max Payne 3 thread about this issue but figured this would be the right place.

Max Payne 3 is a joy to play at 21:9 - that is as long as you're only counting the gameplay. Those excellent and stylish in-engine cutscenes are horizontally cropped, however.

I'm not very technical but it appears like the game is treating the single 21:9 monitor as the center screen in a triple monitor setup. Even worse, for rendered cutscenes the game plays the video in a tiny box - not using the full vertical resolution.

I'm here today asking for a solution. Can anyone figure out how to get Max Payne 3 to run correctly at 21:9? I'm talking with no compromises - Flawless Widescreen style. Please?

-SeventhWard

Here's fix - MaxPayne_3.7z (mirror link)
It will work on scene release v1.0.0.114.

Here's another fix:
- Run game and Alt+Tab it
- Run Max_Payne_3_21x9_FIX.EXE (mirror link) (It automatically close after memory patching)
- Alt+Tab back to game
Not sure, but maybe this fix will work on Steam and Rockstar Warehouse version.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Last edited by jackfuste on 20 Jul 2015, 08:54, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2015, 22:17 
Offline

Joined: 29 May 2015, 04:13
Posts: 6
Thanks, jackfuste!

The first link provided didn't apply to my version but the Alt+Tab memory patch app clears my Steam copy of the game right up. I salute you! A most sincere thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!
For other users out there, I've noted that this patch will need to be run every time the game is launched. Also, it seems a little crash upon exiting the game is par for the course as well.

Other than that, those transitions between cutscene and gameplay have never looked better. Max Payne 3 has been resurrected as a WIDESCREEN noir masterpiece.

My next bottle of whiskey and painkillers is in your honor, jackfuste!

-SeventhWard


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 19 Jul 2015, 00:47 
Offline

Joined: 19 Jul 2015, 00:45
Posts: 1
Can you post the fixes again? They're not available to me. Thank you.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 24 Oct 2015, 00:20 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jun 2015, 22:14
Posts: 1
jackfuste wrote:
SeventhWard wrote:
I've posted over in the Max Payne 3 thread about this issue but figured this would be the right place.

Max Payne 3 is a joy to play at 21:9 - that is as long as you're only counting the gameplay. Those excellent and stylish in-engine cutscenes are horizontally cropped, however.

I'm not very technical but it appears like the game is treating the single 21:9 monitor as the center screen in a triple monitor setup. Even worse, for rendered cutscenes the game plays the video in a tiny box - not using the full vertical resolution.

I'm here today asking for a solution. Can anyone figure out how to get Max Payne 3 to run correctly at 21:9? I'm talking with no compromises - Flawless Widescreen style. Please?

-SeventhWard

Here's fix - MaxPayne_3.7z (mirror link)
It will work on scene release v1.0.0.114.

Here's another fix:
- Run game and Alt+Tab it
- Run Max_Payne_3_21x9_FIX.EXE (mirror link) (It automatically close after memory patching)
- Alt+Tab back to game
Not sure, but maybe this fix will work on Steam and Rockstar Warehouse version.


My virus scanner says its a virus :/ ( the mirror )
is it?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 11 Nov 2015, 16:18 
Offline

Joined: 22 Nov 2014, 01:42
Posts: 2
I've tried the Max_Payne_3_21x9_FIX.EXE (from the first link) today on the current Steam version of the game (1.0.0.196) and the fix works. To apply it though you have to do one extra step after running the patch. Working procedure:

  • Start the game, wait until the main menu has loaded.
  • Switch to desktop and run the Fix, when it has been applied the fix closes itself.
  • Switch back to the game, go into Graphics options, set Aspect Ratio to 16:9 and Apply. After that set the Aspect Ratio back to Auto and Apply.
  • Now the fix should work, you can immediately see the effect because also the menu itself is now rendered correctly.

Tested on 3440x1440. Thanks for making this fix!

I wouldn't recommend the other fix (MaxPayne_3.7z), this is based on an older and cracked version of the game.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 02 May 2016, 11:29 
Offline

Joined: 09 Apr 2016, 17:15
Posts: 3
Hey @Jackfuste
Would it be possible to apply the fix on the most recent .exe.
The alternative fix works greatly on the Steam version, but it's annoying having to launch it manually each time.

Here's the original .exe (Steam)
https://mega.nz/#!QZ9yEazC!2ZR5ghG0z-a9 ... i_bniWLqAc
(Can't seem to upload here as attachement)


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2016, 10:06 
Offline

Joined: 26 Jul 2016, 09:50
Posts: 1
You also help me Stick RPG 2 unblocked ,thanks


Last edited by lokins85 on 15 Aug 2016, 10:49, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
 
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2016, 13:34 
Offline

Joined: 07 Aug 2016, 01:57
Posts: 9
I didn't understood how the first fix worked.

The second one with JoopNL instructions works great. The game is really amazing at 3440x1440. (I can max everything with a 1070 except for AA)


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 09 Jan 2017, 17:32 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jan 2017, 16:45
Posts: 1
I´ve got the steam version, so I cannot use the cracked fix.
But the second fix can´t be downloaded anymore. Could anybody upload it again?


Top
  
 
 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group