Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 07 May 2021, 11:34

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 22 Dec 2009, 23:26 
Offline

Joined: 07 Jul 2007, 23:55
Posts: 2866
May Google lead someone here who needs this.

Change V-card and Turok won't run. Gives me a general protection fault. Tried all the listed fixes, nothing.

Remembered game ran once after I switched V-card, I changed game settings, and then GPF time. So I deleted settings data in Documents and Settings...nada.

Reinstalled game and it worked! I then changed settings and...nada. So what setting was causing it? Why didn't it run when I deleted the setting files?

Because I missed some.

Went to "TurokTurokGameConfigTurokEngine.ini" and found my resolution.

StartupResolutionX=1920
StartupResolutionY=1200

Changed it back to 1024x768 default and it worked! Hmmmm.

Tried 1920x1080...worked. Tried 1600x1200...worked. Tried 1920x1200...GPF. Hmmmm.

I then remembered I was lazy and didn't enable refresh rate overrides in the NVIDIA CP (I run 1920x1200 at 85 Hz). I had used RefreshForce.

Disabled 1920x1200 in RefreshForce and it worked...at 60Hz. Crossed my fingers and used the refresh rate override in NVIDIA CP and...success!

Maybe this will help someone. I feel potent right now.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 28 Jan 2010, 23:07 
Offline

Joined: 28 Jan 2010, 23:02
Posts: 2
Really, I don't understand what you did. I have the general protection fault and i have reinstalled it about five times and it does nothing, still the general protection fault. I truly don't understand what you did to make it work but frankly, I'm very pissed that the game still not works. So can someone please help me I really don't want to make it a 60$ coaster.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2010, 03:35 
Offline

Joined: 21 Oct 2006, 19:47
Posts: 32
Really, I don't understand what you did. I have the general protection fault and i have reinstalled it about five times and it does nothing, still the general protection fault. I truly don't understand what you did to make it work but frankly, I'm very pissed that the game still not works. So can someone please help me I really don't want to make it a 60$ coaster.


I second this.

No matter how many times I reinstall, same GPF.

No matter if i disable DEP or change compatibility settings, same thing.

Even using the "no-disc" option, nada.

Using AMD/ATI if that makes any difference.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2010, 01:09 
Offline

Joined: 07 Jul 2007, 23:55
Posts: 2866
The GPF occurs for multiple reasons. I just listed another one that affected my system and game.

So other then trying the other fixes like the PhysX download and the VB 2008 package, I gots no answers for you.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 19 Feb 2010, 22:42 
Offline

Joined: 28 Jan 2010, 23:02
Posts: 2
Thank you I found the problem though, I need a new video card... but thanks anyways!! :D


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 21 May 2014, 19:49 
Offline

Joined: 31 Jul 2010, 12:21
Posts: 9
This is a problem with older games that use PhysX. Here's the fix.

One off installation and game should then run fine.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx-9.12.1031-legacy-driver.html

:mrgreen:


Top
  
 
 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group