Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 26 May 2020, 08:04

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 285 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 29 Jun 2019, 13:49 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2019, 13:40
Posts: 2
Hi Dragonlord3344 and @Valheureux, I wanted to try your regex fixes but
for row 0258AB90 I have value
40 3D 84 41 01 00 00 00 00 44 41 40 01 00 00 00

for 0E36FC10 I have value
21 95 20 95 23 95 22 95 25 95 24 95 1A 95 E0 95

So completely different values and i'm reluctant to overwrite them with the values given. That will surely not work. I just bought the game today on Steam so it must be version 1.12 and I want to get rid of the black bars at 3440x1440. I have no idea what to try next..

_________________
Galax GTX1080Ti | Titan Army 34" UWQHD VA | 7700K | 16GB GSkill | M-Audio BX5a monitors | Samsung 960 NVMe


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 30 Jun 2019, 01:46 
Offline

Joined: 16 Feb 2015, 01:53
Posts: 11
JayJay wrote:
Hi Dragonlord3344 and @Valheureux, I wanted to try your regex fixes but
for row 0258AB90 I have value
40 3D 84 41 01 00 00 00 00 44 41 40 01 00 00 00

for 0E36FC10 I have value
21 95 20 95 23 95 22 95 25 95 24 95 1A 95 E0 95

So completely different values and i'm reluctant to overwrite them with the values given. That will surely not work. I just bought the game today on Steam so it must be version 1.12 and I want to get rid of the black bars at 3440x1440. I have no idea what to try next..


The row will change everytime there's a new .exe update. I just downloaded an update but I'm assuming this one was pushed through on the 26th. For me

41 2C 01 4C 89 CB 0F 29 was on row 0E0FF3B0

and

35 FA 0E 3C was on row 02549310

Unfortunately while this did remove black bars the FOV is jacked with everything zoomed way in. I remember early on it did this but the zoomed in was just in select menus but this is zooming in the gameplay itself where 3rd person camera is so close the engines clip at the bottom of the screen.

_________________
Asus Maximus VII Formula w/ FrontBase - I7-4790k - 16gb Corsair [email protected] - 2x EVGA 980 - Soundblaster Z - Corsair ax860i - Corsiar Air 540 - Corsair H100i - Corsair Link Mini - 2x Samsung 840 Pro 256 - 2x WD Black 2tb - Asus BW12D1 - 2x Dell U2412 - Razer Blackwidow - Razer Orbweaver - Razer Naga Chroma


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 30 Jun 2019, 04:21 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2019, 13:40
Posts: 2
Thanks Jmike, I located the lines with 'find Hex-values' and successfully removed the black bars/got uw working. The game seems to look good, not sure if it's zoomed in, the draw distance seems very near tho and i see a lot of pop-in. don't think it was like that before. Perhaps this zooming is what this fix relies on. But I'm also having the offsetted HUD issue so the game is unplayable and i'll have to revert the changes to actually play or fix the HUD somehow.

How did they not just add native support in the 1.12 patch? Mind boggling.

_________________
Galax GTX1080Ti | Titan Army 34" UWQHD VA | 7700K | 16GB GSkill | M-Audio BX5a monitors | Samsung 960 NVMe


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 30 Jun 2019, 19:58 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jun 2019, 19:36
Posts: 3
Location: SW Ohio, USA
EDIT: I've fixed it. See bottom of post for the actual fix.

I've been reading through this thread since February and using the fixes provided @Sushamat @Winkelmann and @Markuscicero5, modifying the Magic.py script with the ever changing offsets in the various game updates and this has been working beautifully. However, as of the 25 June update, something completely different appears to be taking place.

The fix for the Black Bars (41 2C 01 4C 89 CB 0F 29 - Offset 0E0FF3B0) no longer behaves as expected when the "01" is changed to "00" (zoomed-in). But more interestingly, the FOV value situation seems to have changed in much more dramatic fashion. Hex "35 FA 0E 3C" now appears in multiple places, particularly at offsets 02549310, 0258B950, and 037FD010. Interestingly, at offset 0258B950, you see it repeated four times in a row, which I don't recall seeing before.

Editing t he values of "35 FA 0E 3C" at offset 0258B950 where it is repeated results in erratic flight behavior and is not something I recommend.

I am no coder/programmer, and perhaps, this is optimism on my part, but I'm sensing that Bandai Namco might ACTUALLY be slowly fixing this issue permanently and is slowly making progress with each update now.

Another thing I noticed: Run a clean/un-modded copy of the game. Go to the graphics options and set the game to fullscreen mode (while your widescreen/multi-monitor display mode is active) and notice that the option to set the game to that widescreen resolution is now there. Set it to that mode, and the game will actually run in that widescreen mode, albeit still only playing the game in the center 1920x1080 portion of the screen. Taking replay screenshots in this mode will include the black bars on either side. (This used to only be somewhat doable in Borderless Windows Mode).

Anyway, food for thought. We may just need to be patient on this one, unless some of the absolute wizards I mentioned above know of other workarounds in the mean time.

The Fix (v1.1.3 25 June/ADF-01 Update):
1] Fix the Black Bars by changing "41 2C 01 4C 89 CB 0F 29" to "41 2C 00 4C 89 CB 0F 29" at offset 0E0FF3BA.
2] Change FOV values from 35 FA 0E 3C to your appropriate widescreen value ONLY at offset 0258B950!

Along with this, the Magic.py/3D Migoto stuff from @markuscicero5 still works as it did before. I would suggest that the Magic.py script be updated with the above offsets (lines 56 and 59) so that the correct values are written to the correct locations.

Image


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 Jul 2019, 04:06 
Offline

Joined: 10 Feb 2019, 05:05
Posts: 30
@Phoenix042X, you must be running an older version of magic.py, as the latest version is now handling both of the situations you pointed out. Here's what the script does now:

Create a backup of the exe with a timestamp in the filename.

Read the entire exe into memory, then do a find/replace of the bytes we want to change - that includes an 8 byte segment that indicates where the black bar setting is, and a 6 byte segment (rather than 4, it narrows the number of matches from 3-4 to 1, and I confirmed it using older exes too) that indicates where the FOV is. This means that no matter what address those 2 things end up being in future patches, the script should be able to find them and fix them.

Lastly, the script does a byte-by-byte comparison of the modified exe to the time stamped backup. It should find exactly 4 bytes that are different: 1 for the black bars (01 to 00), and 3 for the FOV (35 FA 0E to whatever your monitor needs). If it finds exactly 4, great. If not, it should warn you that the script may not have done it job properly.

You can redownload my solution here:

https://github.com/mpm11011/ac7-ultrawide

I should mention I've updated the installation procedure as well. You need to download the entire repository to get the HUD and GUI adjustments, if you don't already have them. I realized that having magic.py download them for you, while convenient, was rather insecure and irresponsible. If you don't know how to use git to clone the repo, you can just download a zip from that page as well.

Let me know if the updated script works better for you. And keep in mind, as Namco/Project Aces continues to update the game, we may find that the values and addresses change in ways we can't predict. Hopefully they just make all this stuff obsolete by actually adding ultrawkde support to the game XD. Until then, I should finally be getting email updates via GitHub if you file issues in that repo.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 Jul 2019, 04:36 
Offline

Joined: 01 Jul 2019, 04:21
Posts: 1
I'd like to start out by thanking all of the people on this forum that put in the work to help simpletons such as myself get these mods working. You guys are awesome!

I followed one of these guides a few months ago, and was able to get my game running on my 3440x1440 monitor with the HUD centered, albeit stretched a bit. I was fine with how everything was working until a game update reverted all the changes.

So yesterday I found Winkelmann's guide on page 23 of this thread, and followed it as best I could. These steps fixed the black bars, but now my HUD is shifted to the left of my screen, and I have no idea what I need to do to fix the issue. I'm hoping someone could give me a tip. Is there a hex value I should edit to center the HUD? Etc.

Thanks again


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 Jul 2019, 17:15 
Offline

Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 20:39
Posts: 10
markuscicero5 - Your solution worked perfectly! Thanks for sharing it!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 02 Jul 2019, 00:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jun 2019, 19:36
Posts: 3
Location: SW Ohio, USA
@Markuscicero5 Indeed I was. Once I found that I somewhat reasonably understood how to fix it and that GitHub repository was likely up-to-date, I figured it was easier to just modify the script and re-patch with the method I was using. Once I did that, I hadn't been back here for quite a while.

That being said, I appreciate the pointer toward update with the new and improved version of the script and will just use that for now. I'll give it a whirl when the next update is released Probably in a month or two.

Thanks!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 02 Jul 2019, 05:12 
Offline

Joined: 10 Feb 2019, 05:05
Posts: 30
You're welcome!

Hey @susahamat or @Winkelmann, how do you figure out what hex values to use for a given monitor setup? Is it trial and error, or is there some math behind it?

I'm looking to implement these equations in my script next: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Field_of_view_in_video_game That way even the craziest monitor setups can be set up automatically. What do you all think?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2019, 23:53 
Offline

Joined: 06 Jul 2019, 23:46
Posts: 1
Hey. I'm still having an issue getting the HUD to center at 3440x1440, and is offset to the left. I see that it's a common issue, but the only fix has been to follow the steps here: http://www.wsgf.org/forums/viewtopic.ph ... 13#p176013 and though I've followed them at least a dozen times, I can't for the life of me figure out what the issue is, as I'm positive I've followed all steps to the letter. Any help would be appreciated...


Top
  
 
 [ 285 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group