Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 27 Jan 2021, 01:43

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 176 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 18  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2019, 23:37 
Offline

Joined: 15 Nov 2018, 02:15
Posts: 13
Here is an example with fxaa+taa on in the game and then fixed up with reshade. Looks much better to me. 32:9 default. Did not change fov yet.

https://imgur.com/Wes739K


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 14 Jan 2019, 05:35 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jan 2019, 05:32
Posts: 5
Evil_Raven wrote:
jackfuste wrote:
Apply this patch to re2.exe
Attachment:
re2_32x9.7z

or using Hex-editor replace the following bytes in re2.exe:
FD FF A7 3F 00 00 00 00 => FD FF A7 40 00 00 00 00


Thank you very much, it's very cool! How do you find this value and how do you know what to replace it with ? Through ReHex I can find and calculate only the screen resolution.
Image


Hi everyone, I'm new here, but I would always be helping...


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2019, 05:37 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jan 2019, 05:32
Posts: 5
jackfuste wrote:
Apply this patch to re2.exe
Attachment:
re2_32x9.7z

or using Hex-editor replace the following bytes in re2.exe:
FD FF A7 3F 00 00 00 00 => FD FF A7 40 00 00 00 00


@jackfuste Could you share the Hex Calculator?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2019, 08:08 
Offline

Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 21:05
Posts: 5
jackfuste wrote:
Apply this patch to re2.exe

or using Hex-editor replace the following bytes in re2.exe:
80 BB FD 00 00 00 00 48 8B F8 74 05 => 80 BB FD 00 00 00 00 48 8B F8 74 00


Absolutely incredible, thank you! I'm a very basic user, but even with just a couple of minutes of tinkering with ReShade I've managed to get equivalent image quality to the base sharpening while using the game's TAA with seemingly no haloing! I can only imagine what will happen when someone comes up with a whole new TAA implementation! Hats off!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2019, 08:28 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 00:58
Posts: 530
yep it looks good without edge sharpening filter then i prefer with lumasharpen reshade to be apply . btw thanks again jack for helping Community

_________________
if you supporting what I do, buy me a coffee here https://ko-fi.com/kevinsesario or instead direct to paypal.me/kevinsesario . EMAIL:[email protected], Steam: https://steamcommunity.com/id/sesariok


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2019, 08:38 
Offline

Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 21:05
Posts: 5
Is it alright to rehost the patches in this thread? More people should see them!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2019, 07:11 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jan 2019, 06:21
Posts: 1
So I wouldn't recommend removing the in game sharpening filter. SMAA and FXAA will not do sufficient in any way on their own for this game. There is just too much raw aliasing generated from every part of the engine. (Textures, lighting, shading,geometry,dithering, standard undersampling issues of subpixel information). The TAA and sharpening are needed. And the in game sharpening when applied to the TAA does a far better job of recovering information without adding excessive artifacts than reshade sharpening solutions alone.

I would recommend using a light sharpening pass on top of the in game sharpening with TAA+FXAA with Reshade. Along with disabling Lens distortion (makes the image even blurrier), and screen space reflections. SSR absolutely wrecks the IQ in this game. It is absurdly low quality and adds a bunch of ghosting and smearing to the image where ever it is used beyond pools of water. Turning shadows down to High, and volumetric lighting to medium can save a lot of performance.

If you have the option and extra headroom I would also recommend you also use downsampling on top. DSR/VSR have a much better resolve filter than the in game resolution scaling (probably a basic linear resolve). But the in game resolution scale is a lot sharper than DSR by default. And with sharpening on top it will look just that much sharper.

I can't stress enough how much downsampling on top makes a difference in this engine with the TAA, much like RE7. If your GPU can handle it 150% resolution scale in game or 2.25x DSR (Which is equivalent to 150% in game as 2.25x is 1.5 of each axis. Resulting in an actual 225% difference in resolution) as a good middle ground.

(In some examples below I use Reshade FXAA over the TAA only option Instead of the in game TAA+FXAA as the in game FXAA doesn't do a good job of cleaning up the edge quality)

____________________________________________________

Image quality comparison.


We want the No AA image without the built in sharpening as our baseline of how the game should look. (As it should be disabled without TAA enabled. But it isn't)

No AA (No sharpening in game) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAASharpeningdisabl.jpg
No AA (Sharpening enabled) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAAwithsharpening.png
TAA without sharpening in game http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/TAAwithoutsharpening.jpg
TAA with sharpening in game http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/TAAwithsharpeninging.jpg
TAA with sharpening in game + lumasharp http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/ccbTAAwi ... inging.jpg
150% res scale + in game sharpening +TAA-FXAA (No external sharp) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/678150re ... amesha.jpg
150% res scale + in game sharpening +TAA-FXAA +Lumasharp at 1080p output http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/150resscaleingamesha.jpg
2.25x DSR TAA sharpen in game + Reshade FXAA +Luma Sharpen at 1620p http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/225xDSRTAAsharpening.jpg
2.25x DSR TAA sharpen in game + Reshade FXAA+High Pass sharp at 1620p http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/d69225xD ... pening.jpg


And a couple interactive comparisons
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127959
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127960
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127956
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127957
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127958

As you can see, the in game sharpening is highly aggressive in order to compensate for the equally aggressive TAA. But when it's still enabled without AA enabled, it causes a false impression that the final TAA option in the game is much blurrier than it is actually intended to be. As the sharpening+No AA causes a hugely disproportionate impression of how the game actually looks without AA.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2019, 09:22 
Offline

Joined: 13 Jan 2019, 21:05
Posts: 5
I definitely agree that the game's native sharpening still produces too soft an image when using TAA, which is funny considering how wildly aggressive it's revealed to be when TAA is disabled. I'd like to see what you mean with this though:

MrBonk wrote:
And the in game sharpening when applied to the TAA does a far better job of recovering information without adding excessive artifacts than reshade sharpening solutions alone.


Experimenting with ReShade's lumasharpen, even when maxed out it still doesn't appear to produce the amount of artifacting that the base sharpening does! Even using multiple sharpening shaders simultaneously doesn't produce the dark halos around high contrast edges that the base sharpening does. The zoomed in screenshots that I posted demonstrate this, though my ReShade settings there were less extreme. Really, it seems like the base sharpening solution is just awful all around, both failing to reclaim full crispness from the blurring of the TAA and introducing noticeable artifacts. However, I'm not an expert, and maybe there are tradeoffs in the form of other artifacting I'm not noticing. The dark haloing is what catches my eye the most with the base sharpening and it's much less present without the base sharpening regardless of what other kind of sharpening I use. Is there other artifacting that ReShade's solutions introduce that is even more disruptive?

Also, I've been trying to use screenshotcomparison myself and having trouble. I uploaded one comparison successfully but every time I've tried since then the page simply reloads and nothing is uploaded. My first comparison was pretty large, so I'd understand if I'd hit a bandwidth limit, but even a day later this persisted, and it still persisted even after I deleted that first comparison. No error or warning message appears, the page just resets and nothing happens. :(


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2019, 10:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 00:58
Posts: 530
great explanation mr.bonk
MrBonk wrote:
SSR absolutely wrecks the IQ in this game


dev didn't fix their SSR REEngine since RE7 released,its kinda disappointed for me

_________________
if you supporting what I do, buy me a coffee here https://ko-fi.com/kevinsesario or instead direct to paypal.me/kevinsesario . EMAIL:[email protected], Steam: https://steamcommunity.com/id/sesariok


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 18 Jan 2019, 17:04 
Offline

Joined: 18 Jan 2019, 17:03
Posts: 1
I just made an account here so I can thank you Jack. You're a lifesaver.


Top
  
 
 [ 176 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], DotNetDotCom.org [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group