Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 25 Sep 2020, 05:05

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Do I need a new PSU?
PostPosted: 23 Nov 2016, 10:29 
Offline

Joined: 23 Nov 2016, 10:20
Posts: 1
Recently, my computer suddenly shut off on me after showing signs of lag. I tried unplugging and replugging everything in and it worked again. However, I recently got my RX480 graphics card and plugged it in. Everything turns on, I hear the drives boot up, fans turn on, but my screen remains black. I checked a power usage calculator and it comes out as 379W so my 500W PSU should work. I then unplugged the PCI-E cord from my graphics card and it boots up again. Does this mean my 500W power supply is not enough?

This is my build:
i5 4690k processor
2 Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB Kit (2x8GB) 1866MHz DDR3 CL10 DIMM (HX318C10FBK2/16)
MSI Z97S SLI - Krait Edition motherboard
Case is one of those Be Quiet! ones with 4 fans
Thermaltake 500W power supply

Thank you in advance!


Last edited by johnsmith1212 on 27 Nov 2016, 06:22, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
 


 Post subject: Re: Do I need a new PSU?
PostPosted: 23 Nov 2016, 15:37 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 06 Sep 2011, 09:29
Posts: 552
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands
500W should be plenty for your rig. Those calculators are usually on the conservative side. Have you tried unplugging everything but the essentials to pinpoint what the culprit might be? Also, it seems that you have been issues even before you got your RX480; which might point to the fact that some other component was dying already. Do you have a second rig, so you can to test stuff by exchanging components ?

We might be able to give you some pointers like I just did, but I feel you would be better of posting something like this on the overclock.net forums.

_________________
Philips BDM4065UC(3840x2160) Acer Z35([email protected]); 980 Ti Hybrid @stock ; 6700K 4.6ghz (1.35v)/D15; 16GB 3200mhz; Asus Maximus Ranger VIII; AX860; 1TB 960 EVO; 750GB 840 EVO; Teufel Concept D 500; Sennheiser HD6XX; Windows 10 (latest build)


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I need a new PSU?
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2016, 14:03 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2008, 17:20
Posts: 3424
Maybe that sudden shutoff was caused by or caused some damage to the PCI-E port... and the 480's notorious PCI-E power draw is only making things worse. Try plugging the card to another port.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I need a new PSU?
PostPosted: 28 Nov 2016, 14:30 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
Download and install FurMark and Prime95.
Run both at once.
If your system crashes your PSU can't handle the load and something is wrong.

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group