Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 13 Jul 2020, 03:09

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 00:10 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2015, 22:44
Posts: 15
Hello

I´m not a top of the top user, but i know some basic things to solve a
problem, but this one is transcending Me, Nvidia, Asus (not a good support),
and many cable stores, a no one have a solution, so far after 2 weeks of
reading and posting in most of the forums that i cross, i see myself in this
one, with more experience people, so i´m going to try to explain what is
going on, and maybe i have some luck, because i´m completly stuck.

Let´s start from the beginning

I have an Asus PG278Q and an Asus G750JX, hooked up with a mini displayport
to displayport cable; i was using it with an Asus VG248QE, and at the
beginning the notebook didn´t detect more than 85Hz, so i take the laptop to
a store, i get it hooked up with a thunderbolt adapter from Apple to HDMI,
and somehow it enable the displayport, and when i get home, and plug in the
same cable, the display was recognized has a 144Hz one.

Now i bought the PG278Q, and what happens is, every single time i hook up the
cable, i get 85Hz, i try to create a costume display resolution with 144Hz,
says yes it´s ok, but doesn't show up in Nvidia Control Panel, and the Max
that i can get is 100Hz. so....:

First - I RMA the display, they brought my another one, i test it, same thing
85Hz top, with the driver of the Cd that came with the display, so i
installed the last version of Nvidia drivers, and i always have to try to
create the 100Hz customization, i get a "No Range" message, and even if it
doesn't appear, i have to do this, so the NVCP, after close it and open it
again, show me at least the 100Hz option.

Second - I tried almost all Nvidia drives from 340 and above, same thing, he
only shows me 85Hz Max, then i try the same steps to create the 144Hz, same
process has i described above, and when i close and reopen the NVCP, 100Hz
are shown.

Third - I made a complete factory reset to my laptop, after this, and without
any update installed, i plug in the display, 85Hz shown up, and then i try to
create the 144Hz, sends me a messege, saying that the display doesn't support
that refresh rate.

Four - I install the 340 Nvidia drivers that came with the cd of the display,
and install the only drivers that the display have, and nothing, same story
from the beginning, 100Hz max, and doesn't let me create the 144Hz.

Five - I go to a store (Mediamarkt in this case) and saw one working, they
have it plug in to a ROG tower with a GTX980, and they only tell me that they
plug it in and that´s it, no drivers of the display where installed, and the
144Hz appears, with no problems.

Six - I took my laptop there, hooked it up to that display that was working,
and with my cable, same thing

Seven - i try to force the resolution with some program that i can´t
remember the name, but no luck

Eight - I RMA again, got a new display, and same thing

So, i´m running out of options here, really this is the most strange thing
that happen to me.....so i contact Accell, because i saw that they where DP
certified, explain my situation, and they told me:
" Accell B143B-007B can support 2560x1440 @ 144Hz. However we cannot be sure
that using this Accell cable will resolve your issue.
Note that Thunderbolt and Mini DisplayPort are two different protocols, even
though they share the same physical connector. A Thunderbolt connection may
not be able to support 2560x1440 @ 144Hz."

I contact cablemasters
"If the cable you are using is only 6 feet I am guessing it is something to
do with either the graphics card or the monitor. Most 6 foot DP cables can do
4k at 60hz which is more bandwidth than those refresh rates you are trying to
get at 1080p. Our cable can support that but unfortunately we do not have a
way to ship to Portugal"

This last one (Cable Masters have a Mini Displayport/Thunderbolt compatible
cable to Displayport, in there description, i left me thinking if it isn´t
the cable...

in the end, my question is, what is going on here, can someone please help me
getting 144Hz?
Is there any program that can test my mini displayport/Thunderbolt port?

i really hope i can get one single answer please.

Thank you my friends


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 00:12 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7360
I checked the spec sheet on the laptop. It doesn't say what version of DisplayPort the outputs are. I think you need DP 1.2 to drive a 144Hz refresh.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 00:41 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2015, 22:44
Posts: 15
Thank you my friend for your answer, but I can ashore you that this is a 1.2 cable here's the link of it http://www.chiptec.net/acessorios-diver ... l?___SID=U


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 10:38 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2015, 22:44
Posts: 15
You can see all the specs here

https://www.asus.com/ROG-Republic-Of-Ga ... OG_G750JX/

they say 1 mini-displayport and 1 Thunderbolt, but has you can see in the screenshot, they are in the same place


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 12:48 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 02:10
Posts: 244
From the testing you've described it doesn't sound like an issue with the cable or the monitor, it's an issue with the laptop, as skipclarke suggested. Perhaps the GPU or motherboard only uses a 1.1 Displayport, which wouldn't be able to drive a 2560x1440 display at 144 Hz.

One thing that you could try to test further is lowering the resolution and seeing if higher refresh rates become available. If so, that would confirm that the laptop's displayport simply can't drive the full resolution and full refresh rate of your monitor.

If that's the case, you'd be better off returning the monitor and getting one with a lower resolution if you still want to hit 144 Hz.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 12:50 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2015, 22:44
Posts: 15
i have tried that my friend, in all resolutions 85Hz is the Max.

Thanks for your answer my frend


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 14:27 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2009, 14:27
Posts: 1789
:welcome
I see you have also posted here about your issue:-
http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa ... e?pid=4287
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topi ... /?offset=2
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.p ... Hz-Problem

The monitor does confirm that it is DisplayPort 1.2 compatible.

Looking into the laptop in more detail I read that it sports a Nvidia GTX-770M GPU, a chipset which is compatible and has been issued with the Displayport 1.2 connectivity.
According the the Nvidia site the GT-770M GPU chipset is able to drive 3840x2160 resolution, although it does not state at what refresh rate, according to my bandwidth calculator tool [email protected] would be possible over Displayport 1.2.


The cable you purchased does not specify if it is DP 1.2 compatible, however it does state that it is a plain DisplayPort cable type.

Quote:
There are a few Reduced Bit Rate (RBR) cables on the market that will support only up to 1080p, but these are generally restricted to projector installation applications. Unless the cable is identified as RBR, it is a standard DisplayPort cable and will support all DisplayPort configurations.

Despite what you may read, there is no such thing as a DisplayPort 1.1 cable and DisplayPort 1.2 cable. A standard DisplayPort cable, including the so-call DisplayPort 1.1 cables, will work for any DisplayPort configuration including the new capabilities enabled by DisplayPort 1.2, including 4K and multi-stream capabilities. All standard DisplayPort cables support RBR, HBR (High Bit Rate), and HBR2 (High Bit Rate 2), which can support 4K at 60Hz, or up to four 1080p displays using multi-stream.

~snip

An important criterion for selecting a DisplayPort cable is to know which type of DisplayPort connector you need at each end. The other obvious criterion is cable length; they are generally available in lengths of 1 to 3 meters (up to about 10 feet).

As mentioned previously, it is important to avoid low quality DisplayPort cables to prevent unexpected video or audio problems, and sometimes even system power-up problems. Always buy cables from a reputable computer system or accessory brand. Or safer yet, buy a cable that is DisplayPort certified. DisplayPort certified cables are listed here.

Recently VESA has experienced quite a few complaints regarding troublesome DisplayPort operation that ended up being caused by improperly made DisplayPort cables. These “bad” DisplayPort cables are generally limited to non-DisplayPort certified cables, or off-brand cables. To further investigate this trend in the DisplayPort cable market, VESA purchased a number of non-certified, off-brand cables and found that an alarmingly high number of these were configured improperly and would likely not support all system configurations.
-Source

DisplayPort 1.2 transmits data using the HBR2 mode.

To be able to drive [email protected] you require 12.74Gbit/s of bandwidth, something of which only displayport 1.2 will handle.

Displayport 1.2 has a recommended maximum cable length of 3 meters, which your 2 meter cable is of cause inside of this maximum.


Given the feedback you have provided over your various posts I would conclude that the issue could be with an Nvidia driver or the unbranded cable you have purchased.

Please ensure you have installed the latest nvidia drivers provided by Asus for your laptop - http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/Dri ... 133788.zip

If this continues to be an issue then please try with an alternative brand displayport cable.

Good luck!

_________________
| Gigabyte X79S-UP5-WiFi Skt2011 | i7 4820k @4.4GHz Watercooled (Ivy Bridge-E) | Corsair Vengence 32GB @2133MHz 11-11-11-27 2T Quad-Channel (8x4GB) | AMD R9-Fury-X 4GB @1140/505MHz + EKWB Watercooled | 256GB Crucial MX200 SSD | 8x 1TB Samsung F3 SATA-II | Corsair 850W TX PSU | 3x Dell S2209W 22"wide TFT's (5760x1080res) | Logitech Z-5400 5.1ch speakers | Win7 Ultimate x64 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 14:35 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2015, 22:44
Posts: 15
Thank you very much my friend for your kind answer

has you might understand, i think that in different forums are different people with other knowledges, but i had no luck in 2 weeks, from talking to Nvidia, Asus, and some forums, but i really really thank you for your attention.

I´m going for the new cable, http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00A7R9I22/r ... 71_TE_item , i talked do accell, and from the displayport.org, they say it´s certified displayport cable.

So when it get´s here, i will feedback my friend.

Thank you very very much for your analysis and your kind answer.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 15:04 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7360
Al_Jourgensen wrote:
You can see all the specs here

https://www.asus.com/ROG-Republic-Of-Ga ... OG_G750JX/

they say 1 mini-displayport and 1 Thunderbolt, but has you can see in the screenshot, they are in the same place


Personally, I think it is the output on the laptop. The specs page you link to (same one I found), only describes it as "mini DisplayPort" and "Thunderbolt". Based on this, I would assume it is the original "Thunderbolt (1)" and not the newer Thunderbolt 2.

According to the Wikipedia page, Thunderbolt 2 added support for 20Gbit/s and DP 1.2.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thunderbolt_(interface)#Controllers


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2015, 18:56 
Offline

Joined: 03 Aug 2015, 22:44
Posts: 15
But it can't be the output or else I couldn't reach the 144Hz on the VG248QE, and play in 3D, don't you think this is strange? I get the 60, 120, and 144Hz, in the VG, in this one I only get 85Hz top, and the 100Hz appears after I try to create it,without success, because I get a black screen, and then when the image comes, the 100Hz option appears, also 120hz I get a black screen, but in this case I have to force the restart, or I don't see nothing, the 144Hz also works, but doesn't stay costumized in the NVCP. The PG278Q it's not thunderbolt 2, it's like the VG , only with more better quality and higher resolutions.


Top
  
 
 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group