Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 15:40

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 07 Jun 2015, 17:59 

Hi there-
I have found posts related to this question, but none with these specifics.Although I occasionally play video games, my question is more related to a work computer. No 3d stuff.

I'm a Graphic Artist that uses a mac and a PC, and often switch back and forth depending on apps I'm using. The majority of the time I'm using the PC, which has 2 monitors connected to the PC via a DVI/VGA dongle. On the Mac, monitor is connected via mini DisplayPort cable. I am not opposed to trading my Mac monitor with a co-worker, I’d end up with my two main monitors (each) having D-Sub, DVI-D, DisplayPort, USB

Trying to accomplish: Using the Mac Display as a 3rd monitor for the PC, but also be able to use it on the Mac when I need it. I do not need them to work both ways, in other words, I'm fine with the Mac only having one monitor.

I think the first thing i need, if not mistaken, is a video card on the PC that supports 3 monitors. Am trying to accomplish all of this without spending over $100, I'm footing the bill. If it was for my home computer, would be a different story. I’m not opposed to a KVM box but know they're expensive. Maybe save some money by:

1. Using Synergy for the keyboard and mouse?
2.Use the monitor Input Selector as my “switch,” or would that only toggle between monitors, not allowing you to accomplish all 3 at once?

Attached shows all of the ports/cables. If I traded the Mac monitor, I'd have 2 of the Elite Display monitors pictured upper right.
Thanks for any help you can offer!
Bsmith6356

Attachments:
Monitor-Setup3.jpg
Monitor-Setup3.jpg [ 260.61 KiB | Viewed 2520 times ]

PostPosted: 08 Jun 2015, 18:52 
Administrators
Administrators

Hello Bsmith, :welcome