Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 06 Jul 2020, 14:06

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2014, 06:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2014, 01:12
Posts: 10
My Rig:

i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz w/ Evo 212.
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming (16/8,8/4,4,4)
Sapphire Toxic R9 280x (Master) Drivers v14.11 - GPU 1150 / Memory 1600
MSG Gaming OC R9 280x (Slave) Drivers v14.11 GPU 1020 / Memory 1500
Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600
Samsung 840 Pro Series 128GB SSD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
XFX 850W Bronze.
3 x LG 24EA53V-P 23.8" Displays

i seem to have crossfire working in Metro Last Light and 3dmark now and i'm just trying to get crossfire working correctly on 1 monitor first before looking at all 3.

i'm using beta 14.11 CCC and when i use afterburner to monitor GPU usage i notice that both GPU's are running at stoc speds i.e. 1 x 1150 and one at 1020. i thought they should both run at the slowest cards speeds? it's the same with the memory 1600 and 1500. i've disabled AMD overdrive as if i enable it , i get worse performance.

if i change the settings in afterburner to duplicate the performance on both cards, they run at the lower speeds, but shouldnt AMD overdrive or the CCC do this automatically without the intervention of a 3rd party app like msi afterburner?

really interested in getting some detailed help / advice on this.

thanks in advance.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 15 Feb 2014, 12:45 
Offline

Joined: 27 Jun 2012, 17:55
Posts: 23
Location: Barcelona, Spain
The 3 monitors are connected to the primary graphics card?
You can only create a crossfire eyefinity group, if all monitors out of the same card.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2014, 15:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2014, 01:12
Posts: 10
Hi

yes i have them connected via 2 x DVI & 1 HDMI. (no active adaptor needed due to 280x) i have an eyefinity group created and running fine now.

so since last night i have a fully functional crossfireX set up which i manually set the GPU's to run at the slower speed (1020/1500) for some games like DayZ to be stable. other games like Metro Last Light it seems to run happily at 1150/1020 & 1500/1600. WEIRD!

ive disabled AMD overdrive as this seems to cause all the problems.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2014, 18:46 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
There is no need for both cards to run at the same clock speed.
Crossfire works fine even if each card has its own speed.

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group