Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 29 May 2020, 05:41

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 12 Feb 2017, 18:29 
Offline

Joined: 11 Feb 2017, 16:35
Posts: 3
I am currently running 3 dell s2415h in surround making a resolution of 5760x1080p and one accessory monitor above them which is an LG ultrawide 2560x1080p monitor.

Ok, so I have been playing with my Nvidia Surround for the last few days after just hooking it up. I noticed something that is going to be a pain. I need to be able to toggle Nvidia surround off and on due to productivity. Surround does not remember my settings on any of monitors when I turn it off and when I turn it on it remembers the 3 dell monitors, but forgets my accessory monitor exists. I started checking around on different forums with a bunch of people asking about it, but a lot of the forums are years old. Now, Nvidia did make a toggle switch to turn Surround off and on so I know they are at least listening to the forums to an extent, but maybe people need to be a bit more proactive to their support team for this information? I contacted the Nvidia live chat support. Here is a copy of my conversation below:


Zia: Hi, my name is Zia. How may I help you?
honaker326: One sec. I was pre-typing up my question on notepad to save us some time. :)
honaker326: Hi, I am using 3 Dell 1080p monitors in an Nvidia Surround setup making the resolution 5760x1080 and one extra LG 2560x1080p monitor above the 3 Dell's as an accessory monitor to watch movies and stuff on while I game in Surround. This resolution works great to an extent of gaming, but sometimes I need to turn surround off to do work and be more productive. You guys made a toggle switch to turn off and on Surround, but it has a hard time remembering my settings. It never remembers my settings when I turn surround off which means I have to reconfigure my monitors everytime. If I turn surround on it will only remember the 3 dell monitors and it forgets my LG accessory monitor exists.
Zia: I understand and there is no option to save that setting
honaker326: I'm constantly having this battle of having to reconfigure my monitors every time I turn Surround off and on. I checked the forums, but this seems to have been going on for years without much of an answer from nvidia. If the forums don't work then I contact the source. Could you run up a request to add an option to have profile saves for nvidia surround for being off and on? The toggle switch works fine. I just need it to remember my settings.
Zia: Sure, I will forward the feedback to concern team
honaker326: Thank you very much.
Zia: Its my pleasure
honaker326: Well, hopefully they take a look at it. Either way it was worth a try. That is all I needed. Thanks again and have a nice day.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 15 Feb 2017, 23:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 23 Aug 2016, 20:51
Posts: 4
Location: Manchester, UK
Does your CPU have onboard graphics (Intel HD or AMD equivalent), and if so is there a connector on your motherboard you could plug your LG into? That would let your 1070 run the three Dells without the complication of the LG.

This guess does not include a guarantee :)

_________________
i5-2500K @ 4.3GHz | GTX970 | 8Gb | 512Gb SSD | 3 x Dell P2310H


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2017, 11:52 
Offline

Joined: 18 Feb 2017, 11:45
Posts: 1
Hi Guys im new to the forum. At the moment i have an ultra wide 21:9 monitor and a normal 16:9 monitor. Will i be able to use NVidia surround if i add an other 21:9 monitor ? So is it possible to use NVidia surround with 2x 21:9s and 1x 16:9 monitor ?

Thanks Alot


Top
  
 
 [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group