Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 23 Jul 2024, 16:53

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 06 Sep 2014, 12:03 
Offline

Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 19:20
Posts: 24
I just bought a GTX 780 ti and I'm starting to regret it. I don't play games every day, so I usually have my monitors configured in Extended desktop. My problem is that every time I wake my computer from sleep, every window and icon will have moved to the primary screen. Having to move them back every time is so annoying it makes me want to return the card.

Is this an issue for everybody else with similar configurations? If it isn't, does anybody know what could be causing it? I appreciate any tips or suggestions.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 06 Sep 2014, 17:43 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
I don't know about sleep, but when you switch from Eyefinity to extended on AMD cards it also throws around all windows.

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 06 Sep 2014, 21:26 
Offline

Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 19:20
Posts: 24
Yes, but with AMD you can actually load a saved profile that will set configure the desktop for you. I found that with Nvidia, I can deactivate Surround with a hotkey and then use the Windows-function (Win + P) to set it to Extended again.

Still, I would love it if someone with Windows 7, a card from Nvidia and two or more monitors could configure these as an Extended desktop, move a few windows to non-primary displays, put the computer to sleep, wake it up again and check if the windows stay put or if they have moved to the primary display.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Sep 2014, 11:10 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2009, 14:27
Posts: 1789
Previously when I owned Nvidia cards I had a GTX285 + 9800GTX to allow me to run 4 monitors (1 over 3) which I used to span games across in windowed mode, with all monitors in extended mode, when I would wake it up out of sleep, my apps did remain on the monitors they where last placed, in windows 7.

Just as my AMD card does now when in extended and I wake it from sleep.

Are all the monitors switched on before you wake the PC, could it be waking up and detecting only 1 monitor until you power the other displays on maybe?

Still its been a while since I run Nvidia, something could have changed, so input from someone with the same setup would still be valuable, but that is the experience I got when using such a config.

_________________
| Gigabyte X79S-UP5-WiFi Skt2011 | i7 4820k @4.4GHz Watercooled (Ivy Bridge-E) | Corsair Vengence 32GB @2133MHz 11-11-11-27 2T Quad-Channel (8x4GB) | AMD R9-Fury-X 4GB @1140/505MHz + EKWB Watercooled | 256GB Crucial MX200 SSD | 8x 1TB Samsung F3 SATA-II | Corsair 850W TX PSU | 3x Dell S2209W 22"wide TFT's (5760x1080res) | Logitech Z-5400 5.1ch speakers | Win7 Ultimate x64 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Sep 2014, 12:53 
Offline

Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 19:20
Posts: 24
Yes, all the monitors are always on. I'm not doing anything different from when I used the AMD card. Apart from one thing... One of the monitors were connected with a VGA->DP adapter while the others were connected with DVI. Now I use HDMI instead of the adapter. I'm going to try this adapter again, although I am no optimist.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Sep 2014, 13:17 
Offline

Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 19:20
Posts: 24
Well, this is nothing short of interesting...

The configuration that caused me grief was HDMI+DVI+DVI. Then I tried DVI+DVI+VGA and the problem went away!

Just for the sake of curiosity, I also tried HDMI+DVI+VGA, but didn't quite work. Most windows were moved to the primary display (HDMI) after restore from sleep, except for Chrome which stayed put on the DVI-display. With the first config, also Chrome would jump to the HDMI-display.

Weird stuff. I'm going to see if I can find another HDMI-cable to test...


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Sep 2014, 22:07 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2009, 14:27
Posts: 1789
Strange, good detective work tho.

_________________
| Gigabyte X79S-UP5-WiFi Skt2011 | i7 4820k @4.4GHz Watercooled (Ivy Bridge-E) | Corsair Vengence 32GB @2133MHz 11-11-11-27 2T Quad-Channel (8x4GB) | AMD R9-Fury-X 4GB @1140/505MHz + EKWB Watercooled | 256GB Crucial MX200 SSD | 8x 1TB Samsung F3 SATA-II | Corsair 850W TX PSU | 3x Dell S2209W 22"wide TFT's (5760x1080res) | Logitech Z-5400 5.1ch speakers | Win7 Ultimate x64 |


Top
  
 
 [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group