Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 23 Jul 2024, 14:45

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 25 Jun 2014, 19:43 
Offline

Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 16:19
Posts: 5
I have used Display Fusion to split my 5760x1080 into three virtual displays so that windows maximize to their respective virtual monitors. But it goes bananas with the taskbar, kinda buggy and it is not free.

Nvidia has a software balled nView but it is disabled for GTX cards. I force installed it but it was too buggy.

What other methods out there are there to triple-split?


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 26 Jun 2014, 21:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 11 Apr 2012, 23:41
Posts: 8
Location: Selkirk Mountains, USA
The way I like to use multiple monitors is with Matrox's Triplehead2go adapter hardware. Expensive tho, anywhere from $150 to $350 depending where you buy it. Ebay, Amazon, Newegg & more distributors.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 26 Jun 2014, 23:58 
Offline
I Donated
I Donated
User avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 02:58
Posts: 264
Tispe wrote:
I have used Display Fusion to split my 5760x1080 into three virtual displays so that windows maximize to their respective virtual monitors. But it goes bananas with the taskbar, kinda buggy and it is not free.

Nvidia has a software balled nView but it is disabled for GTX cards. I force installed it but it was too buggy.

What other methods out there are there to triple-split?


Hi

You wont need a 3party solution. Since a year or so back the functionality comes with the drivers for gtx nvidia. You should find it in the menu of the nvidia control panel under desktop settings.
My windows maximize to each desktop and the taskbar is on the middle screen in nvidia surround mode.
:thumbup:

_________________
| i7 6850K Broadwell-e @4.2Ghz | DDR4 32GB @3200Mhz| 2x Msi 1080 X | Asus X99 Deluxe II /H110i/AX1200iw |
| 3x Dell P2314H @ 5760x1080 + Philips 43" 4K IPS BDM4350UC Monitor + Oculus Rift CV1 |
| 1*Samsung EVO 960 500GB NVMe x4 gen.3 | 2x Intel SSD SATA III Raid 0 | 2x Intel SSD SATA III Raid 0 | 2x 2TB SSHD Seagate SATA III Raid 0 |
| Logitech G810 - G502 - G240 - G27 - G940 - | TrackIR 5 Pro | Saitek RHINO X55 HOTAS | Xbox One Elite Gpad |
Asus Vulcan Pro | Asus Xonar U7 | Sony STR-DE495P External Surround Home Cinema Reciever |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 27 Jun 2014, 01:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 06:29
Posts: 20
Tispe wrote:
I have used Display Fusion to split my 5760x1080 into three virtual displays so that windows maximize to their respective virtual monitors. But it goes bananas with the taskbar, kinda buggy and it is not free.

Nvidia has a software balled nView but it is disabled for GTX cards. I force installed it but it was too buggy.

What other methods out there are there to triple-split?


What issues are you having with the taskbar using DF?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 27 Jun 2014, 09:44 
Offline
I Donated
I Donated

Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:19
Posts: 513
anteronoid wrote:
Tispe wrote:
I have used Display Fusion to split my 5760x1080 into three virtual displays so that windows maximize to their respective virtual monitors. But it goes bananas with the taskbar, kinda buggy and it is not free.

Nvidia has a software balled nView but it is disabled for GTX cards. I force installed it but it was too buggy.

What other methods out there are there to triple-split?


Hi

You wont need a 3party solution. Since a year or so back the functionality comes with the drivers for gtx nvidia. You should find it in the menu of the nvidia control panel under desktop settings.
My windows maximize to each desktop and the taskbar is on the middle screen in nvidia surround mode.
:thumbup:


Can you show exactly where? My nVidia surround doesn't let me maximize windows on each monitor. The windows never stay maximized.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 27 Jun 2014, 15:31 
Offline

Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 09:05
Posts: 95
right click Nvidia control panel,desktop,surround displays...........

_________________
Intel i7-6850k gtx 1070 sli 3xPredator monitor NVsurround


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 27 Jun 2014, 22:14 
Offline
I Donated
I Donated
User avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 02:58
Posts: 264
Amon Amarth wrote:
anteronoid wrote:
Tispe wrote:
I have used Display Fusion to split my 5760x1080 into three virtual displays so that windows maximize to their respective virtual monitors. But it goes bananas with the taskbar, kinda buggy and it is not free.

Nvidia has a software balled nView but it is disabled for GTX cards. I force installed it but it was too buggy.

What other methods out there are there to triple-split?


Hi

You wont need a 3party solution. Since a year or so back the functionality comes with the drivers for gtx nvidia. You should find it in the menu of the nvidia control panel under desktop settings.
My windows maximize to each desktop and the taskbar is on the middle screen in nvidia surround mode.
:thumbup:


Can you show exactly where? My nVidia surround doesn't let me maximize windows on each monitor. The windows never stay maximized.


Sure, right here. This is my settings. Works really good. :onethumb:

Image

_________________
| i7 6850K Broadwell-e @4.2Ghz | DDR4 32GB @3200Mhz| 2x Msi 1080 X | Asus X99 Deluxe II /H110i/AX1200iw |
| 3x Dell P2314H @ 5760x1080 + Philips 43" 4K IPS BDM4350UC Monitor + Oculus Rift CV1 |
| 1*Samsung EVO 960 500GB NVMe x4 gen.3 | 2x Intel SSD SATA III Raid 0 | 2x Intel SSD SATA III Raid 0 | 2x 2TB SSHD Seagate SATA III Raid 0 |
| Logitech G810 - G502 - G240 - G27 - G940 - | TrackIR 5 Pro | Saitek RHINO X55 HOTAS | Xbox One Elite Gpad |
Asus Vulcan Pro | Asus Xonar U7 | Sony STR-DE495P External Surround Home Cinema Reciever |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 29 Jun 2014, 10:27 
Offline

Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 16:19
Posts: 5
The Control Panel->Desktop-> Surround Displays options works for windows, but not fullscreen applications such as YouTube and VLC players. I have to do overlay tricks to get VLC to play fullscreen on just one monitor and allow me to use the other ones. The YouTube player can be poppped-out with a plugin to have the player take up the entire window, maximizing the window still leaves you with the window border and title bar. So not quite fullscreen on YouTube.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 19 Dec 2014, 18:17 
Offline

Joined: 19 Dec 2014, 17:47
Posts: 2
Tispe wrote:
The Control Panel->Desktop-> Surround Displays options works for windows, but not fullscreen applications such as YouTube and VLC players. I have to do overlay tricks to get VLC to play fullscreen on just one monitor and allow me to use the other ones. The YouTube player can be poppped-out with a plugin to have the player take up the entire window, maximizing the window still leaves you with the window border and title bar. So not quite fullscreen on YouTube.


What overlaid tricks do you use? and have you figured out a better way to make youtube work?


Top
  
 
 [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Yandex [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group