Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 07 Jun 2020, 07:34

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 18 May 2018, 19:11 
Offline

Joined: 29 Mar 2014, 20:00
Posts: 3
Ok, this is the last stop on the train. Ive exhausted everything I can think of, googled till I was cross-eyed, and asked elsewhere.

If i cant make it work via the folks here - whelp, another mark on the board for not using surround going forward ><

So i run 3 monitors in portrait + an accessory display. The nVSurround setup is 4320x2560 or some such. However I use bezel correction which leaves me at 4680x2560. (also running SLI if the aforementioned didnt make that obvious/if its relevant).

The problem im having is games not picking up or giving me 1920x1080 as an option. Normally I game in exclusive fullscreen and use displayfusion to allow me to tab to my accessory display. (necessary or else SLI doesnt work).

However, just as much as I'm on my pc, im in my bed or on my couch using one of my steam links. Unfortunately its decoding power is limited and trying to stream >4k to it becomes problematic due to latency and such. Add in the fact that the aspect ratio is something crazy/wonky as can be, and i end up with bars in funky places on my tvs.

The reasonable solution would be to run at 1920x1080 right? (the tv's are 4k but the steam link caps at 1080p anyhow).

I cant run the games in fullscreen mode at 1080p as that would require changing the entire desktop resolution which messes everything up. Im just trying to run games windowed at 1080p.

For now ive been editing config files, digging into the registry, etc. Basically doing whatever I can to force a 1080p window for when I play on my steam link.

This is cumbersome as if i want to play on my pc, then I have to re-edit whatever was edited previously when I want to switch back to the steam link. That coupled with some games simply not being able to be forced via any config file its getting tiring.

I apologize for the length of this - and I hope this was clear enough. How can I get all my games to "see" my surround unit as being able to do 1080p windowed so when I start a game and put it into windowed mode, ill have the 1080p option?

Instances have existed where it'll give me 1080x1920 but I can never get the proper aspect ratio, resolution, and landscape. Its always either the orientation or the aspect ratio of my resolution (something crazy like 219:63 or some junk) getting in the way i think.

I came across something called a monitors "EDID" and CRU but after dabbling it didnt seem to cut it.

Anyone have any other ideas? Or know for certain what is hanging me up so i can attack the problem from a more specific direction?

Thanks for your time and help!


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 19 May 2018, 10:31 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
Trying to get each and every game to run 1920x1080 window mode via .ini edit seems like an impossible task. Might work for some but certainly not for all.

The idea of EDID changes or CRU is a good one, but AFAIK neither work if you have Eyefinity (or Surround) activated.
But I did think it somehow was possible to add custom surround resolutions. If you could add 1920x1080 it would look horrible stretched but you could stream in normal full screen.
That said I don't have eyefinity ATM nor did I use surround long enough to know if and how that might work.


Another idea might be trying to deactivate all 3 surround monitors and force the 4th display as Main for streaming, if it supports 1920x1080

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 19 May 2018, 10:51 
Offline

Joined: 29 Mar 2014, 20:00
Posts: 3
Hello and ty for the reply.

Unfortunately the 4th display is also in portrait mode and as such, no bueno on using it to stream as its 1200x1920.

The developer of CRU told me something along the lines of getting 1920x1080 to show up in the games list (in order to set it as a windowed option) requires adding a resolution to each display independently that adds up to 1920x1080 aka 640x360 or some such.

I couldnt get it to work however. I know surround is niche, but hopefully not so niche that someone doesnt come along with an answer at some point :) Ive dealt this long, I'll continue doing so with hope lol.

I thoroughly regret going with such an ostentatious build at this point. Cool factor was a reasonable motivator at a younger age but now, I just want everything to work without trouble lol.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 24 May 2018, 10:59 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
I think your chances of success by using a script to disable surround and rotate a Monitor is higher than trying to force surround in 1920x1080.

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group