Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 13 Jul 2020, 02:26

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 04 Nov 2014, 20:28 
Offline

Joined: 04 Nov 2014, 20:18
Posts: 6
I'm on a all time low budget so I bought a Gigabyte AMD 6870 1GB version, I'm also running 3x AOC Monitors with resolution of 2x 1440x900 and 1x 1650x1050. Eyefinity display group works fine it's just that my middle screen with 1650x1050 resolution is downsized to like 1650x900 or 1440x900 (Either one I think not sure) and everything is sooo blury and big while my 2 identical AOC monitors look just fine. I have been searching everywhere and found some good tutorials here and elsewhere BUT still have the same problem. I tried SoftTH but the problem is that it only supports DirectX9 and only tested on some games, while I admire the program it just doesn't really suit my needs.

I've read that I need to have a AMD 7xxx series card so that I can obtain the Fill and Expand options. I really don't want to upgrade again as I just got this GPU and I also don't want to change my middle monitor screen to a 1440x900 19" (Middle screen is 22" at the moment). Is there ANYWAY that I can have black bars on top of my screen so that it does not get changed from it's native resolution or some type of improvement?

Thanks in advance.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 04 Nov 2014, 22:34 
Offline

Joined: 22 May 2014, 11:00
Posts: 17
ArkPhazeNinja wrote:
I'm on a all time low budget so I bought a Gigabyte AMD 6870 1GB version, I'm also running 3x AOC Monitors with resolution of 2x 1440x900 and 1x 1650x1050. Eyefinity display group works fine it's just that my middle screen with 1650x1050 resolution is downsized to like 1650x900 or 1440x900 (Either one I think not sure) and everything is sooo blury and big while my 2 identical AOC monitors look just fine. I have been searching everywhere and found some good tutorials here and elsewhere BUT still have the same problem. I tried SoftTH but the problem is that it only supports DirectX9 and only tested on some games, while I admire the program it just doesn't really suit my needs.

I've read that I need to have a AMD 7xxx series card so that I can obtain the Fill and Expand options. I really don't want to upgrade again as I just got this GPU and I also don't want to change my middle monitor screen to a 1440x900 19" (Middle screen is 22" at the moment). Is there ANYWAY that I can have black bars on top of my screen so that it does not get changed from it's native resolution or some type of improvement?

Thanks in advance.


I don't know about needing the 7xxx series or above for mixed eyefinity - but you do need to use drivers 14.9 or newer, and I advise using "14.9.2 beta" as the 14.9s have problems
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-article ... Notes.aspx


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Nov 2014, 23:35 
Offline

Joined: 04 Nov 2014, 20:18
Posts: 6
Yes, I'm using 14.9 drivers. I'll give the 14.9.2 beta a try right now.

EDIT: Posted a reply but not approved yet. Anyways long story short 14.9.2 Beta is only for GCN architecture which is AMD HD7xxx series which is why I don't have the Fill and expand options. Only found this after uninstalling my AMD drivers so had to re-install 14.9. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Nov 2014, 00:21 
Offline

Joined: 04 Nov 2014, 20:18
Posts: 6
Well uninstalled my current 14.9 drivers then downloaded and installed 14.9.2 and found out it only supports GCN types which is HD7000 series or above which is why I don't have the fill or expand options in AMD CCC. Reinstalling 14.9 again :crazy:

Eh this is doing my head in. Went from Nvidia to AMD recently.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 06 Nov 2014, 05:10 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
you might find a way to legacy mod the 14.9.2 beta drivers yourself here

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Nov 2014, 06:39 
Offline

Joined: 04 Nov 2014, 20:18
Posts: 6
Legacy mod? What do you mean by that? I'm fairly new to how AMD works so I'm just going a long with it. I'm more use to Nvidia. So are you saying I can download the new 14.9.2 beta even with a 6870? Thanks


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 07 Nov 2014, 06:56 
Offline

Joined: 04 Nov 2014, 20:18
Posts: 6
Sorry for double posting but I have been looking through the threads on the link you gave me and it looks like AMD 6870 is going to be an outdated thing - I get what "legacy" now. I'm kinda disappointed I thought AMD would be better (No hate at all). I still have my Galaxy GTX 260 OC+ and Nvidia still release drivers for it and it's a pretty old card. As far as I know GTX 260 came out around 2008 and 6870 at 2010...

I rifled through the thread but still a bit confused, if you find one can you let me know? If not it's probably best if I just buy a 19" Monitor :thumbdown:


Top
  
 
 [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group