Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 07 Jul 2020, 17:00

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 08 Mar 2013, 04:32 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 04:20
Posts: 2351
Location: Virginia
[This thread got lost during the outage, so here's a repost.]

The Problem: So, I've been trying to figure this out for years it seems. I've been running a single GPU setup with 3x30" monitors since the 5000 series came out and running 7680x1600 is sometimes to hard to push a single GPU. So I wanted to run a lower resolution. Unfortunately that resolution was 5040x1050 in which is too small to look good on a 30". So I wanted to run 5760x1200, but it wouldn't show up in the Custom Eyefinity Resolution section.

Imperfect fixes:

    Buying a New 30":
    I tried getting a 30" with a scaler to run 1920x1200 over and group it with the other 30"rs. This worked by giving me 5760x1200, but it kept me from easily going back and forth from 7680x1600 and 5760x1200.
    Also since I was using mis-matching inputs, I got tearing on the Single-Link DVI monitor.
    On top of which the Dell 3008wfp has horrible input lag.

    SoftTH:
    Breaking Eyefinity into extended monitors and running SoftTH was okay. It gave me 5760x1200, but I had to change each desktops resolution each time I wanted to game at that res. I was also stuck with only DX9 and some games had compatibility issues.

Failed Attempts:

    I tried:
    ...editing the registry where you can add custom single monitor resolutions with 1920x1200 and trying to create a group. Nothing.
    ...editing the registry where Eyefinity resolutions appear to be store. No Dice.
    ...editing the registry where you can add custom single monitor resolutions with 5760x1200 and trying to create a group. Nope.
    ...using custom resolution utilities on their own. Zilch.
    ...a bunch of other stuff except editing the EDID directly due to my monitors not having scalers.

What works:

So after screwing around today with ToastyX's Custom Resolution Utility, I found something that worked. (I was was trying to see if I could run a 30" off a single-link DVI by overclocking the TDMS in my graphic card. It doesn't work at all unless you have a scaler and run it at 30Hz).

    I disabled my Eyefinity Group.
    Then I deleted all the entries of monitors using the tool.
    Then I restarted so that all my current monitors would come back in the list.
    Next under each monitor, I Added 1920x1200 @60Hz to the list.
    Image
    --Use the "Best for LCD" under Timing.
    Image
    Then I hit okay and then rebooted.
    Next in CCC, I went to LCD Properties and turned on GPU scaling for all 3 monitors.
    Then I created the Eyefinity Group.
    Afterwards, I went to Customize Eyefinity Desktop Resolutions and low and behold, 5760x1200 showed up.
    Image
    I chose it and now I can use the resolution in game as well.

It's a lot to do to get the resolution available, but this headache is now behind me. I thought I was going to need to replace all my monitors with U3011's. Now I'm satisfied. Hope this Helps.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update: Using this method, I got 7680x1080 to work, although, in eyefinity mode, it scales all the resolutions to the whole panel. So it looks stretched. Changing this in the LCD properties menu does nothing. But I'm sure I can get some nice screenshots.

EDIT: It's not the best game because of the HUD, but you get the idea. Here's some UT3. It not as obtrusive when using not so wide resolutions.

Image
Image
Image

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE 2: This also works if you're trying to overclock your monitors refresh rate and run eyefinity. I was able to setup [email protected] on 3x2209WA's. Both on VGA and DVI.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE 3: So I was able to run 5760x1200 on these 2209WA's just by adding 1920x1200. Instead of letting the Video Card do the scaling, I let the monitor do the scaling (OSD says [email protected]). This may be downsampling and eyefinity working together.

Usefulness: Well basically, for those who have different resolution monitors, but your main monitor is of a higher resolution than your others, but you want to play at your main monitors resolution. (1680x1050 + 1920x1200 + 1680x1050) I'm going to try and get video card scaling working so that maybe someone who has a 30" and 2 24"rs can run at 7680x1600 on smaller monitors.

Monitors: 3xDell 220WA
Monitor Optimum Res: 1680x1050 @ 60Hz
Running Resolution: 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
Drivers: 13.1
Video Card: 6870 1GB
Video Card Scaling: No
Image
Image

BTW, the fonts are a bit messed up because my brother is blind and has his DPI settings up really high. He's kinda blind.

------

UPDATE 4:
With 4K Tiled displays coming out, AMD's drivers aren't quite up to snuf. Lots of resolutions aren't available while in SLS Mode. But since it's essentially 2 displays, you can add the resolutions that don't exist, that need to exist.

Add the half resolution to both sides to get access to the resolution you want.

1920x1080 = 960x1080
2560x1440 = 1280x1440
2880x1620 = 1440x1620
3414x1920 = 1707x1920

_________________
System Core: | Intel Core i5-2500K + ASUS P8Z68-V + 16GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 MHz | Win7 x64 | MSI R7970 Lightning 3GB [1105/1400] |
Display: | 3 x Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC @ 7680x1600 | Dell u3011 |


Last edited by suiken_2mieu on 21 Jan 2014, 02:19, edited 4 times in total.

Top
  
 


PostPosted: 08 Mar 2013, 15:46 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2008, 17:20
Posts: 3424
Aaaaand sticky'ed for greatness. Again.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2013, 01:51 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 04:20
Posts: 2351
Location: Virginia
Updated with using Resolutions above monitors' "max" resolution.

_________________
System Core: | Intel Core i5-2500K + ASUS P8Z68-V + 16GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 MHz | Win7 x64 | MSI R7970 Lightning 3GB [1105/1400] |
Display: | 3 x Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC @ 7680x1600 | Dell u3011 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2013, 15:52 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 04 May 2011, 22:54
Posts: 77
Location: Space
suiken_2mieu, know me know if this tutorial works on nvidia surround?

_________________
Sorry my bad english!


My Wallpapers For Multi Display Monitors => http://www.wsgf.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22137


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2013, 16:47 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 04:20
Posts: 2351
Location: Virginia
LeandroJVarini wrote:
suiken_2mieu, know me know if this tutorial works on nvidia surround?

I have no idea, I haven't worked on any nVidia hardware since before the 8800 was released. It might though. Infact it should.

_________________
System Core: | Intel Core i5-2500K + ASUS P8Z68-V + 16GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 MHz | Win7 x64 | MSI R7970 Lightning 3GB [1105/1400] |
Display: | 3 x Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC @ 7680x1600 | Dell u3011 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 May 2013, 02:48 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7360
I wonder if this could be used to do 4k UHD on a regular 1080p panel. Can you try that, or something similar? Would help in testing games for 4k UHD support.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 May 2013, 03:12 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
Guess it doesn't work! Because if you have Monitor Downscaling it's gonna send the full 3820*2160 @60hz to the monitor. and i think most monitors wont be able to downscale that.
Only via GPU scaling it would be possible to render 3820*2160 pixel and then send out 1920*1080. But as far as i managed to play around with downscaling and Monitor resolutions that didn't work!
Only way i managed that, was via Internal Downscaling from dx11(10).

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 May 2013, 03:30 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 04:20
Posts: 2351
Location: Virginia
skipclarke wrote:
I wonder if this could be used to do 4k UHD on a regular 1080p panel. Can you try that, or something similar? Would help in testing games for 4k UHD support.

I couldn't get a resolution bigger than the native resolution to work. This overrides what the lcd says it can actually use, so it would be sent 4K to the monitor rather than a downscaled version.

I can test 4K if I put my 3x30" in portrait and make a custom resolution of 3x 2160x1280 (3840x2160).

Downsampling could be used, but I've only got it to work with 12.11 CCC or earlier. If you have an nVidia Card, downsampling is easier.

_________________
System Core: | Intel Core i5-2500K + ASUS P8Z68-V + 16GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 MHz | Win7 x64 | MSI R7970 Lightning 3GB [1105/1400] |
Display: | 3 x Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC @ 7680x1600 | Dell u3011 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 May 2013, 04:45 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 08 May 2011, 18:58
Posts: 2286
Zencyde did some Tests about 1920x1080 on 3x1 P mode! So this should work.

_________________
We gonna send it to outa space!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2013, 20:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 19:56
Posts: 3
That is quite useful. In overclock.net there is some discussion going on about building an eyefinity array out of IPAD 4 screens (with suitable converter you can drive one straight from the displayport) - after looking at the spec sheet of these it appears that these screens run internally at 120 Hz, but report themselves as 60 Hz display and use interpolation usually. With the help of this tool it will be a somewhat easier to attempt to get them to run at native 120 Hz by just adding the option into there (and hoping that slapping the screen with 120 Hz signal will make it bypass the interpolation). So far the current plan was to just do the EDID hack and hope for the best.

Bookmarked for future use.


Top
  
 
 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group