Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 01 Mar 2024, 22:32

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 19 Aug 2010, 02:54 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7358
Someone else who was helped by more current.

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=19299&p=197578#p197578

Edit: Maybe not.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 20 Aug 2010, 03:34 
Offline

Joined: 27 Sep 2009, 06:43
Posts: 81
There is another way to get more current. I just wired my own molex to usb adapter. So far, after a couple of hours of testing, it's not having any issues.

Cut a USB extension cable and use the female end with a molex connector. It's pretty simple: red to red, black to black, and it's 5 volts. A little soldering, plus a couple of shrink tubes and it's done neatly. There are pictures out there such as these on this subject.

So basically my system is this:
Launch HD5870
bios: 012.019.000.006.036339
Cat 10.7
Bizlink dp to dvi
firmware .34
powered by molex to usb
working so far.

Edit:
Don't know what happened, but my system started having issues with displayport link problems, and the displayport monitor no longer was detected properly. So just to be on the safe side, I wired up a 2x usb male to 1 female connector. Now it's ok again.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2010, 08:15 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2009, 14:27
Posts: 1789
That is good news thatdude90210!!
I too had thought about using the molex method.. great minds eh ;)

I/WSGF appreciate your feedback on this as it shows some further evidence to confirm my suspicions.
I am glad it worked out for you! :)

We now just need a couple of other members whom have had issues to try the solutions here and confirm that it has solved any flickering for them also so as we can start suggesting this to be the recommended solution. :D

I still have a handfull of USB Y splitter cables left that I am willing to donate free of charge to any member new or old! In order to get a rounded assesment of the solution from this community.

So come on you WSG-Forumites lets get testing and confirm this solution, the more evidence we can muster up the better!
Thanks all :rockout

_________________
| Gigabyte X79S-UP5-WiFi Skt2011 | i7 4820k @4.4GHz Watercooled (Ivy Bridge-E) | Corsair Vengence 32GB @2133MHz 11-11-11-27 2T Quad-Channel (8x4GB) | AMD R9-Fury-X 4GB @1140/505MHz + EKWB Watercooled | 256GB Crucial MX200 SSD | 8x 1TB Samsung F3 SATA-II | Corsair 850W TX PSU | 3x Dell S2209W 22"wide TFT's (5760x1080res) | Logitech Z-5400 5.1ch speakers | Win7 Ultimate x64 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2010, 09:08 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2010, 13:39
Posts: 761
Have you guys checked to see what sort of voltage drop you are getting on these lower power adapters? maybe the bigger issue is the output voltage sagging under load.. has anyone tried driving these troublesome adapters with say >5v? (say 5.5v)

The higher current supplies would likely have less voltage droop - altho it would depend on the quality of it anyway (regulated or not etc) - 5v rail on PSU is probably a great place to start for a garentee'd output voltage - also typically a bit higher than 5v normally, 5.2, 5.3v ... are the actaul displayport adapters themselves normally internally regulated?

prob get vdroop on the usb output too - i believe the USB spec only actaully calls for min 4.6xv at the device.

_________________
Resident Jester - Flawless Widescreen - Widescreen gaming the way it should be.
[Steam Profile]

Want to keep Flawless Widescreen alive? Donate Here


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2010, 10:18 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2009, 14:27
Posts: 1789
I have used a multi-meter to measure the exact voltage from the USB sockets and the wall to usb power supplys with a custom built USB cable with multi-meter points, all of which where exactly 5.0V.

I dont think the adaptors them selfs house much in the way of any internal regulators, so using the PSU for the 5V might be a bit touch and go as thatdude90210 has experienced due to the fact that the voltage can fluctuate from the PSU although it always provides a good amount of current of cause.

Where as the USB sockets are highly regulated, on several PC's and a USB hub that I have tested all supplied exactly 5.0V.

EDIT: So I decided to test my pc at work, along with a ac to usb adaptor, the work PC was at 4.94V and the power adaptor came in at 5.28V (although the output sticker on it does say 5-12V) and my works dell monitor coming in at 5.25V
Guess I am lucky at home to a regulated steady 5.0V feed on both my PC's, the power supply adaptor and the usb hub.

_________________
| Gigabyte X79S-UP5-WiFi Skt2011 | i7 4820k @4.4GHz Watercooled (Ivy Bridge-E) | Corsair Vengence 32GB @2133MHz 11-11-11-27 2T Quad-Channel (8x4GB) | AMD R9-Fury-X 4GB @1140/505MHz + EKWB Watercooled | 256GB Crucial MX200 SSD | 8x 1TB Samsung F3 SATA-II | Corsair 850W TX PSU | 3x Dell S2209W 22"wide TFT's (5760x1080res) | Logitech Z-5400 5.1ch speakers | Win7 Ultimate x64 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2010, 17:08 
Offline

Joined: 19 Apr 2008, 22:46
Posts: 144
Eh, I've been down this road before... I'm using the Dell adapter, which is just a re-branded Bizlink. I didn't have flickering problems initially, it started occurring in all drivers after 10.4.

Supplying the adapter with a 5 amp source didn't help at all. I had to flash my HD5850 to a newer BIOS revision in order to fix it. With the newer BIOS, the adapter is once again working perfectly off of one of my motherboard's USB ports.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 21 Aug 2010, 20:48 
Offline

Joined: 27 Sep 2009, 06:43
Posts: 81
I was already running a newer bios for my 5870 (with the higher gpu register 0x18 of 1.175 volts - original bios had that at 1.1625) and from 10.4 it was still blanking.

Funny thing since my molex to usb displayport link failure episode. I connect the bizlink's usb to another usb port off of a auxiliary bracket (like one seen here) so that I can do a neater job on the dual usb power cable. Problem is, it's working fine as is, just the single usb off of the bracket and not a single flicker or any blanking in either Eyefinity mode or 3 monitor extended mode in the last 2 days.

At this point, I'm going to leave it as is and not touch it unless the next Catalyst breaks it again.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Aug 2010, 02:26 
Offline

Joined: 21 Aug 2010, 11:03
Posts: 1
Hi i have already tried testing the Bizzlink adapter with USB and other AC to USB adapters. Normally they run at 500Ma but I have the Iphone adapter witch runs at 1A. Both the 500Ma and the 1A did not work.

My three monitors normally run at 60Hz, I am able to make them run at 75Hz at a lower resolution. When I do this my blinking issue seems to vanish. My Bizzlink adapter is plugged into a USB port on my pc. I don't have to use an adapter for the wall.

As far as I can see, your monitor on the DP, needs to be running at a higher refresh rate then 60Hz. I would say it needs to be 75Hz to use eyefinity. That is the conclusion from my test. I am going to be buying a monitor that runs at 75Hz to make sure this is true.

Hope this helps someone.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Aug 2010, 09:23 
Offline

Joined: 06 May 2010, 05:52
Posts: 210
Since I have had about 3 months of nearly perfect Eyefinity performance, I'm really not that interested in testing other options. I don't see, for me, any real need to improve anything at this point. Maybe at one time I would have been interested in testing, but, those days are behind me now.

But, Cheers for those who are doing so and I hope for good success!

_________________
~Windows 7 x64 Professional~MSI X58A-GD45~Intel I7-950~6x2 GB DDR3 1600 RAM (Triple Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX HD 6950 2 GB GDDR5~3 ViewSonic 24 inch LCDs in Eyefinity~SATA Dual Layer DVD RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~Done with Vista~XP Pro on the way out, too!~AND....250 GB XBOX 360~


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2010, 23:51 
Offline

Joined: 23 Aug 2010, 15:40
Posts: 3
would you please enlight us how you fixed this? it miight work for more people


Top
  
 
 [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group