Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 20 Apr 2021, 14:29

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 02 Mar 2009, 23:57 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2007, 02:13
Posts: 1514
"][quote]It needs to be any 16:9 resolution, 1920x1080,


whoa wait, so now it has to be 16:9 AND 1920x1080 ??? wth ??
i checked all resolutions in gta4 and the 1080 is not available.
nah, something's not right. i do not believe that people who use 1920x1200 can NOT make proper full youtube vids... i'm getting mixed messages here....

No, I mean that the resolution needs to be any resolution that is 16:9. The resolutions I listed afterwards were just examples of 16:9 resolutions you could use.


I have to disagree with dopefish though, I would personally record everything in 1280x720 though, No scaling. Do you have any sample videos to support the claim that scaling downwards on youtube is better than no scaling?


I do have examples actually. :)

The reason it looks better is that it has more detail to start out with. YouTube always re-encodes videos. If you upload a 720p video, YouTube is going to re-encode it still. It's going to see the detail in the 720p video and basically lower it. If you upload a 1080p video, there is more detail to start out with.

Shot of uploaded source:


Result of 720p upload:


Result of 1080p upload:


There is extra detail all over the re-encoded 1080p source. The garage door, walls, sandbags, ground, hand, etc. There is less over-all blocking, too.

_________________
Widescreen Fixer - https://www.widescreenfixer.org/

Widescreen Fixer Twitter - https://twitter.com/widescreenfixer
Personal Twitter - https://twitter.com/davidrudie


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 05 Mar 2009, 05:38 
Offline

Joined: 17 Jan 2009, 13:02
Posts: 47
this is nonsense..

i have now uploaded the following, and they all still have the left/right bars:

1920x1200 @16:10
1920x1200 @16:9
1280x800 @16:9

fyi: they all have a 8:5 aspect ratio (that's what wmplayer shows @properties)


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2009, 05:42 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7358
1280x800 is is 16:10. You need to upload 1280x720 @ 30ps (i.e. 720p HD). All of the WSGF HD videos work fine at that.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2009, 07:31 
Offline

Joined: 17 Jan 2009, 13:02
Posts: 47
1280x800 is is 16:10. You need to upload 1280x720 @ 30ps (i.e. 720p HD). All of the WSGF HD videos work fine at that.


well AGK doesn't let you choose the height, only the width.
so how do i make it 720 ???

i'm going off the 1st post and he says he uses that!!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2009, 10:07 
Offline

Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 05:14
Posts: 544
"][quote]1280x800 is is 16:10. You need to upload 1280x720 @ 30ps (i.e. 720p HD). All of the WSGF HD videos work fine at that.


well AGK doesn't let you choose the height, only the width.
so how do i make it 720 ???

i'm going off the 1st post and he says he uses that!!

That's because he's encoding from a source of 1080p, which is 16:9.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2009, 10:16 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2007, 02:13
Posts: 1514
Yeah, you can't just take a 16:10 video and encode it to 16:9 without stretching, squishing, or cropping the video. To make sure your videos have no black bars, you must record in a 16:9 aspect-ratio resolution.

_________________
Widescreen Fixer - https://www.widescreenfixer.org/

Widescreen Fixer Twitter - https://twitter.com/widescreenfixer
Personal Twitter - https://twitter.com/davidrudie


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2009, 13:54 
Offline

Joined: 17 Jan 2009, 13:02
Posts: 47
oh God, i'm getting sick of youtube.. or is it firefox..
when uploading larger files (like around 70+mb, but so far never over 130mb) they crap out... anyone have issues uploading larger files ?

and remember that youtube can take up to 1gb files....

i use a crappy 256k for uploading.. (i'm on 1.5/256)

the way it is is that the file "uploads", in that the correct amount is uploaded when looking at the connection details. and usually even more.. then the spinning dot circle spins in firefox but it doesn't seem to finish....

ah whatever....
i give up for now......


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 09:57 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 14:58
Posts: 1497
Hey dopefish I was just looking at the changelog today: http://git.videolan.org/gitweb.cgi?p=x264.git;a=shortlog

I see some interesting things, several speed ups and one that says windows 64 support?

Does that mean no more need for avs2yuv?

Can you personally give me the highlights of the newest version vs the one you sent me a while back? and if you have a new one compiled may I please have it?

Im assuming x264 is doing fine in windows 7 as well as all the other programs? when I get my new laptop I want win7 on it I think.

_________________
ViciousXUSMC on the Web - YouTube :: FaceBook :: Website


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 14:16 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2007, 02:13
Posts: 1514
You can always check here: http://imk.cx/pc/x264/

I keep those updated semi-regularly.

If you're referring to the change "2009-02-11 Anton Mitrofanov Windows 64-bit support" then this change just has to do with a patch for 64-bit support now being officially merged. Before, the patch was separate and you had to apply it yourself to get 64-bit support. With it being officially committed, you can check out the source and it's ready to go.

You will always need avs2yuv if using a 64-bit version of x264 since Avisynth is not 64-bit itself. There are 64-bit builds of Avisynth out there, but there's a lack of 64-bit plugins for it... so it's not entirely useful.

_________________
Widescreen Fixer - https://www.widescreenfixer.org/

Widescreen Fixer Twitter - https://twitter.com/widescreenfixer
Personal Twitter - https://twitter.com/davidrudie


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2009, 08:02 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 14:58
Posts: 1497
yeah you know I knew it was avisynth that needed it but my brain was off when I posted that, other than the 64bit merge any other new goodies I should try out next time I encode a file?

Im getting a new laptop stock with a 2ghz quad core, im going to overclock it to I hope about 3ghz and so I should be able to do video work while I am on the go. I just ran out of videos to work on :(

Staying away from the scene for awhile made me forget stuff.

_________________
ViciousXUSMC on the Web - YouTube :: FaceBook :: Website


Top
  
 
 [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group