Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 14 Jul 2024, 05:49

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 12 Apr 2006, 14:06 
Offline

Joined: 12 Apr 2006, 14:03
Posts: 2
Hi guys im new here, hello to everyone though! :)

Just wondered if anyone had any luck getting Indiana Jones & The Emperors Tomb working in widescreen preferably 1280x768?

While im asking Indiana Jones & The Infernal Machine as well!

Thanks,

Glen.


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 12 Apr 2006, 14:49 
Offline

Joined: 21 Feb 2006, 15:03
Posts: 29
off-topic:
indiana jones & the fate of atlantis :mrgreen:


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 17 Apr 2006, 10:41 
Offline

Joined: 12 Apr 2006, 14:03
Posts: 2
BUMP BUMP come on some one must know!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2007, 01:31 
Offline

Joined: 30 Oct 2006, 00:32
Posts: 17
Anyone?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 18 Jun 2007, 22:46 
Offline

Joined: 18 Aug 2005, 20:48
Posts: 4
Same here, cant set the game to 1680x1050, tried modifyig the .cfg file which shows thr res after you start a game, but it will set it back to 640x480.
Anyone know how?

Thanks...


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 24 Jul 2008, 02:17 
Offline

Joined: 28 Dec 2007, 17:57
Posts: 33
yeah i just dug this one up the other day and would love to see it in 1360x768

i loaded up "Indy & The Infernal Machine" a few weeks ago and it supports widescreen resolutions natively (the health circle looked abit out of line because some bits of the HUD stretched while others didnt) looked so amazing for such an old game though, always had trouble running it on newer machines but some random dude figured out that if you run "Windows Media Player" in the background the game works fine lol with XP anyway

PS Indy & Fate of Atlantis is already in widescreen if memory serves me correctly, alot if not most old DOS games are widescreen

_________________
huh?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 24 Jul 2008, 04:48 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7358
Can you post comparison screen shots?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 24 Jul 2008, 06:35 
Offline

Joined: 28 Dec 2007, 17:57
Posts: 33
i got some screenshots but i dont have an image hosting thing atm

just played it then and it seems the top & bottom is cut but this doesnt affect the game play at all, although it does cut the bottom off the icons in the menu but you can still read what option you are selecting

_________________
huh?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 24 Jul 2008, 23:43 
Offline

Joined: 28 Dec 2007, 17:57
Posts: 33
ok here are the pictures for anyone who is interested. id be glad to do a Detailed Report but im not sure how to go about that :?

1024x768 (4:3)


1360x768 (16:9)


Below is the in-game menu, something you really only use when you need to quit the game as there are shortcut keys to your inventory, but even if you prefer to use the menu, the -Vert doesnt affect your ability to identify your selection.

1024x768 (4:3)


1360x768 (16:9)

notice how the health circle on the bottom left has gone funny


to make the change simply select the resolution you want from the in game "Display Setting"

i could only test up to 1360x768 but here are the resolutions the game had in its list

640x480 1024x768 1280x1024 1920x1200
720x480 1152x864 1360x768 1920x1440
720x576 1280x720 1440x900 2048x1536
800x600 1280x768 1600x1200
848x480 1280x800 1680x1050
960x600 1280x960 1920x1080

to play the game you will need to get update 1.2 easy to find with google
close all background tasks and again run "Windows Media Player" and leave it running while you play (fixes a few glitches)

another thing i have noticed is for some reason the game resets the color mode back to 16bit everytime you quit, so you have to change it back to 32bit everytime you load the game, it is a pain

_________________
huh?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Bumpity bump
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2008, 23:43 
Offline

Joined: 07 Dec 2008, 23:36
Posts: 1
Hey folks, I just dragged Indiana & the Emperor's Tomb out of the closet and wanted to rig up a 720 x 1280 widescreen viewing, as did the original poster. I've tried the same things he tried, including turning "fullscreen" on and off, setting the resolution in the same file he did, and I tried the hex editor program, which is pretty cool. Unfortunately I couldn't find a resolution control line in any of the other config files, besides what I tried that didn't work.

I'm guessing that no one ever found a solution for this, since the game isn't previewed with the other modifiable games. I suppose the proprietary Buffy game engine is to blame here. Is there a solution I'm missing?


Top
  
 
 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group