Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 26 Sep 2021, 14:38

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 434 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 ... 44  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 29 Jun 2016, 14:42 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:22
Posts: 8
Hi ! Thanks a lot for the update, crudelios. The new Pharaoh.exe works like a charm !

Just a small request : your exe works really well with the French Gold Edition, except for the accented letters, which are unaligned with the other letters. Chuck Boris and Olibrius wrote about that and MadPianist had the same problem (now corrected) with Zeus. Is there a way to easily fix that ?

Thanks again ! :onethumb:


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 01 Jul 2016, 15:27 
Offline

Joined: 28 Mar 2016, 14:26
Posts: 24
Hello!

I don't really know if the problem is easy to fix, if the French exe's internal file structure is similar to the English version, it should be trivial to change it.

If not, it's still very possible to change the exe, just not as simple/fast to do.

In either case, can you please upload the french exe so I can have a look at it?

Thanks in advance!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 Jul 2016, 17:31 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:22
Posts: 8
Sorry, I thought Chuck Boris' link was still up.

I've toyed with a lot of .exe from this topic but I think that's the original french Pharaoh Gold exe. I'm hoping to play in 1920x1080.

Thanks !


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 03 Jul 2016, 11:44 
Offline

Joined: 28 Mar 2016, 14:26
Posts: 24
Humm this is very strange, the exe you sent me is exactly the same as the one I used to make the changes to the game, so it should work without any issues.

Can you please send me a screenshot of the problem you're having?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 03 Jul 2016, 14:33 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:22
Posts: 8
Here's some screenshots of the issue.

Image
Image
Image

é, ô, à and others accented letters are weirdly higher that the others.

I've tested a little and I've noticed that the issue occurs even without the widescreen exe. There's no problem with Pharaoh alone (I also have a CD vanilla version), but when I install the Gold Edition (i.e. with Cleopatra), the letters are messed up.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 03 Jul 2016, 20:43 
Offline

Joined: 28 Mar 2016, 14:26
Posts: 24
It that case it makes sense that it doesn't work, you're using the English exe and not the French one! I have no idea why the game installed an English exe for the French version.

Anyway, if you manage to obtain the French exe, test it out to see if it works at the original resolution. If you upload it here, I'll then try to make it work at 1080p res!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2016, 07:31 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:22
Posts: 8
Ok, you were right : the exe I uploaded was an english exe. I don't know why. So, I've made a clean install from my french CDs : first, Pharaoh + patch 1.1 then Cleopatra + patch 2.1.

So here's the Cleopatra french exe :

BUT... there's a problem with Windows 10. This exe won't run, even in compatibility mode. In version 2.0, the following error appears. In version 2.1, there isn't any message, the game just doesn't start.

So my question is : does anyone know what's the difference between CD exe and digital exe and why, for exemple, the GoG version run without problem ? If so, is it possible to modify my french exe to apply the widescren patch AND the Windows 10 "compatibilty patch" from GoG ?

Thanks again.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2016, 10:02 
Offline

Joined: 28 Mar 2016, 14:26
Posts: 24
Is that the original french 2.1 exe? Try this one instead: (link removed)

If it doesn't work at first, try setting the compatibility mode to Windows 2000.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2016, 16:32 
Offline

Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:22
Posts: 8
Quote:
Is that the original french 2.1 exe?


Can't be more original : french CDs and french patch for Pharaoh and Cleopatra. :)

With your new exe, the game's now launching but crashes every time I start a map/mission. I can go through the menus and the missions' briefings but when I click "Go to the city", it crashes.
Same issue with every compatibility mode available in Windows 10 (Win 2000 compatibility is no more available in Win 10, there's just Win 98/ME).


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2016, 13:12 
Offline

Joined: 06 Apr 2016, 14:35
Posts: 8
Hello everyone,

I'm glad that finally someone cares about the french version of Pharaoh :P
I uploaded again my french version of the .exe

I also have Windows 10 and the game works without any compatibily mode.


Top
  
 
 [ 434 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 ... 44  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group