Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 09:32

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2012, 20:53 

Hello All,

This is my first time posting to this forum. I hope this is the correct place for this.

I have created an extension for Google chrome (my first chrome extension!) that embeds WSGF rating medals into a games steam store page. I buy most of my games on steam and I found it time consuming to be constantly looking up games on WSGF to see if they had good multi monitor/wide screen support.

The extension injects a content script into the steam store page that pulls the name of the game and builds a URL to its page on WSGF (e.g. http://www.wsgf.org/df/borderlands-2/en/). This URL is then used in a YQL query to pull back the two rating medal images. These are then inserted into the steam store page.

Since technically this is a form of screen scraping, I wanted to post it here first to make sure that this was OK with the Admins. If Admins approve, this is something i would (eventually) like to publish in the chrome app store (free of course). In addition, I felt that, many people could help me test this thing. For the most part it works. Dirt 2, Dead Space 1 & 2, Skyrim are all examples of ones that work. The naming conventions for games on this site is somewhat inconsistent with steams naming convention. I tried to fix most of these with regular expressions, but there are still some that don't work.

e.g.

Steam name: Amnesia: The Dark Descent
WSGF url: http://www.wsgf.org/dr/Amnesia-dark-descent/
> This works.

Steam name: The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition
WSGF url: http://www.wsgf.org/dr/witcher-2-assassins-kings
> Doesn't work. Too difficult to fix with regex.

Steam name: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion® Game of the Year Edition Deluxe