Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 07:52

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 31 Jul 2007, 22:22 

This is my first time posting on here and I've only been reading these forums a few days since I got my widescreen LCD. As with many other here I was looking for answers about the scrolling and scaling issues with widescreen LCDs and think I found a solution. At least it works for me anyway. =P

Ok, after reading a lot of posts about the whole problem with widescreen monitors scaling incorrectly to lower resolutions I managed to find a solution by combining bits and pieces from other's suggestions and solutions (Thanks to all those posters from this forum and others). I won't guarantee this works for everyone but hopefully it will for you. I also haven't tested it thoroughly and only with one resolution (1024x768) but I successfully recreated the solution several times and it seems to work for the few games I have at the moment as well as just manually switching the resolution. I don't see why it wouldn't work for any resolution or any game but you never know.

I'll be giving the steps for the resolution I used, you'll have to adjust your settings accordingly. This is also for Nvidia only. I have no idea how ATI's drivers and such work since I've never owned one. I also don't know the whole technical aspect behind it all but it works and seems to be doing well so far.

I'm also throwing in how to fix the scrolling issue where the desktop seems larger than the monitor when using these drivers. Feel free to skip this step if you for some reason don't have this problem. Again these are the solutions for the problems I was having with these drivers, video card, and monitor.

(NOTE: This will be rather LONG and just as a precaution you'll have to make some registry changes as well so work at your own risk.)