Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 30 Oct 2020, 14:34

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 135 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2016, 00:40 
Offline

Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 00:36
Posts: 2
Can anyone help me out? I'm trying to play the Steam version (1.35 I guess) at 4K (3840x2160), but the "black bars" that appear for every cutscene left and right are annoying the heck out of me.

Changing game settings (Aspect Ratio to Auto or 16:9, playing with VSync or similar doesn't seem to help).

Flawless Widescreen with the Letterbox Fix enabled doesn't seem to help either.

Would any kind of Hex Edit work as some people have posted the last few pages? And what would I have to do e.g. what "Formatted Value" would fit 16:9 (3840x2160): http://www.wsgf.org/book/export/html/17351 ?


Top
  
 


 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 18 Sep 2016, 20:06 
Offline

Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 09:31
Posts: 4
Location: Russian Federation
@Jorritplay64 and @Dexter,
Upload your EXE, and then I'll try to help you.

_________________
P.S. Sorry for my bad English.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2016, 11:28 
Offline

Joined: 15 Jun 2016, 19:20
Posts: 2
Can someone update so it works with 3440x1440 again please?

Here is the latest Exe: http://www.filedropper.com/gta5_1


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2016, 14:46 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 06 Sep 2011, 09:29
Posts: 552
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands
Because of the release of the Redux mod I have started playing gta 5 single player again. Sadly a good 21:9 fix (to remove black bars in cut-scenes and to move the map to the side of the screen) is not available.

AXLiberty wrote:
I've compared his patched EXE with original, and see that he used "54 55 15 40" value.
Here is patched EXE for "Finance and Felony":
https://goo.gl/2rohqU (DVD/Warehouse version of GTA V)

I remember Zens's fixes being quite elegant, but when I try to replicate his mod, the hud and menu's are stretched (black bars are almost gone and the map is in the right place though). The question is, why replacing 39 8E E3 3F with 54 55 15 40 isn't enough to fix the current version of the game? I found older versions of the mod on my back-up drive and just like AXLiberty did, I compared them and the only adjustment was that 39 8E E3 3F was replaced with 54 55 15 40.

It would also help a lot if any more experienced modders can help us out.

_________________
Philips BDM4065UC(3840x2160) Acer Z35([email protected]); 980 Ti Hybrid @stock ; 6700K 4.6ghz (1.35v)/D15; 16GB 3200mhz; Asus Maximus Ranger VIII; AX860; 1TB 960 EVO; 750GB 840 EVO; Teufel Concept D 500; Sennheiser HD6XX; Windows 10 (latest build)


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2016, 10:15 
Offline

Joined: 05 Sep 2016, 11:43
Posts: 10
I have also just started playing single player again. For another reason really: I just recently got an nv surround setup (5760*1080). But since I'm a complete noob at everything regarding mm-gaming I may need some help.

Eager to try out my new multi-monitor setup I simply fired up GTA5 and selected 5760*1080 as resolution. The results were not ... how shall I put this ... according to my expectations. :lol:. The problem was that the left monitor was somehow selected as "centre" monitor, causing the rightmost two monitors to display the rest of the image. Needless to say the fov was whack on that 2/3 of the display.

So it would be nice if someone could just give me a pointer to which settings I should modify. Are all multi monitor settings under the Display menu?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2016, 20:14 
Offline
I Donated
I Donated
User avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 02:58
Posts: 264
whitestar wrote:
I have also just started playing single player again. For another reason really: I just recently got an nv surround setup (5760*1080). But since I'm a complete noob at everything regarding mm-gaming I may need some help.

Eager to try out my new multi-monitor setup I simply fired up GTA5 and selected 5760*1080 as resolution. The results were not ... how shall I put this ... according to my expectations. :lol:. The problem was that the left monitor was somehow selected as "centre" monitor, causing the rightmost two monitors to display the rest of the image. Needless to say the fov was whack on that 2/3 of the display.

So it would be nice if someone could just give me a pointer to which settings I should modify. Are all multi monitor settings under the Display menu?


That sounds weird. :wtf:
Are you sure you have actually enabled the Nvidia Surround mode in the Nvidia Control Panel, and aligned the monitors correct before starting the game?

_________________
| i7 6850K Broadwell-e @4.2Ghz | DDR4 32GB @3200Mhz| 2x Msi 1080 X | Asus X99 Deluxe II /H110i/AX1200iw |
| 3x Dell P2314H @ 5760x1080 + Philips 43" 4K IPS BDM4350UC Monitor + Oculus Rift CV1 |
| 1*Samsung EVO 960 500GB NVMe x4 gen.3 | 2x Intel SSD SATA III Raid 0 | 2x Intel SSD SATA III Raid 0 | 2x 2TB SSHD Seagate SATA III Raid 0 |
| Logitech G810 - G502 - G240 - G27 - G940 - | TrackIR 5 Pro | Saitek RHINO X55 HOTAS | Xbox One Elite Gpad |
Asus Vulcan Pro | Asus Xonar U7 | Sony STR-DE495P External Surround Home Cinema Reciever |


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2016, 23:17 
Offline

Joined: 05 Sep 2016, 11:43
Posts: 10
Never mind, false alarm. Was only a matter of restarting the game, as it turns out. Works perfectly now. :)


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 29 Sep 2016, 05:08 
Offline

Joined: 26 May 2013, 23:08
Posts: 31
Does anyone else's FOV settings in FWS keep on resetting?

_________________
Intel i7-5960X @ 4456 1.20V; Noctua NH-D14
G.Skill 32GB @ 2800 CL15 1.25V; ASRock X99 OC Formula/3.1
2x NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
2x Intel 520 240GB RAID-0; 2x Crucial BX100 500GB RAID-0; 2x Mushkin Reactor 1TB RAID-0
1x Seagate Backup Plus Fast 4TB
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 P2; Rosewill Thor V2; 3x Asus PG278Q 2560x1440 144Hz G-SYNC
DacMagic Plus, 2x Dynaudio BM15A, 2x Dynaudio BM14S; Windows 10 Pro x64


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 15 Nov 2016, 19:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 19:36
Posts: 26
Is there currently any working solution for the cutscenes?

Current version: 1.36
Platform: Steam

Gameplay obviously works fantastic in 21:9 at 3440x1440 resolution but cutscenes force back into 16:9 breaking immersion.

I am looking all over for just a cutscene fix or directions on how to do it myself.

Thanks

P.S. I have the latest verison of Flawless Widescreen which has an (outdated?) fix included 2.1.102 - Rev. 4 by HaYDeN. Unfortunately this does not work.

P.P.S. I have done some heavy digging online to see if I can find out a working method (via hex editing) etc for an elegant removal of the black bars for single player cutscenes specifically for the 3440x1440 resolution and have had absolutely no luck. It is surprising to me that such a hugely popular Triple A title like Grand Theft Auto 5 would not have community fixes for this in extreme abundance when you can find the same kind of fixes for much more obscure titles easily. Just an observation is all.

_________________
Sincerely,
Skoda Zek
Zek Gaming: http://www.modsrigs.com/detail.aspx?BuildID=36010
If you like my build, please give me a +1 on ModsRigs. Thanks!


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Grand Theft Auto V
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2016, 02:21 
Offline

Joined: 29 Nov 2016, 02:14
Posts: 1
For those gaming on 4K TVs, I've created a guide on how to fix the black bar problem in GTA V: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =806615157

Other games like Deus Ex: Mankind Divided and Assassin's Creed Syndicate also suffer from this and it's basically due to the max supported resolution of the display having a different aspect ratio to the native resolution.

Don't think it'll help any for ultra-wide though as I assume the 16:9 black bars were added to prevent you from seeing stuff they didn't intend to be seen in cutscenes.


Top
  
 
 [ 135 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group