Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 07 Jul 2020, 16:47

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Silent Hill 4: The Room
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2011, 07:00 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 01:08
Posts: 1898


Widescreen Grade: Incomplete
Multi-monitor Grade: Incomplete

Read Full Detailed Report - Silent Hill 4: The Room

Silent Hill 4: The Room is the fourth installment in the Silent Hill survival horror series, published by Konami and developed by Team Silent. Unlike the previous installments, which were set primarily in the disturbed town of Silent Hill, this game is set in the fictional town of South Ashfield, and is focused on the character of Henry Townshend attempting to escape from his locked-down apartment. He explores a series of supernatural worlds and finds himself in conflict with an undead serial killer.








Top
  
 


 Post subject: Silent Hill 4: The Room
PostPosted: 08 Mar 2012, 07:36 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 01:08
Posts: 1898


Widescreen Grade: Incomplete
Ultra-Widescreen Grade: Incomplete
Multi-monitor Grade: Incomplete
4k Grade: Incomplete

Read Full Detailed Report - Silent Hill 4: The Room

Silent Hill 4: The Room is the fourth installment in the Silent Hill survival horror series, published by Konami and developed by Team Silent. Unlike the previous installments, which were set primarily in the disturbed town of Silent Hill, this game is set in the fictional town of South Ashfield, and is focused on the character of Henry Townshend attempting to escape from his locked-down apartment. He explores a series of supernatural worlds and finds himself in conflict with an undead serial killer.



4:3


16:10


16:9


3x1



Last edited by thales100 on 24 Feb 2015, 10:52, edited 10 times in total.
Edit


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 02 May 2012, 01:29 
Offline

Joined: 02 May 2012, 00:50
Posts: 7
I have been testing this game the whole day with various HFOV and VFOV values, to get a perfect 16:9 aspect ratio.
You can set HFOV to 0.75, and it perfectly matches the original HFOV, but adding new pixels to the sides of course.
For the VFOV, you can set it to either 0.58 or 0.59. Unfortunately the perfect value to match the original VFOV would be something like 0.585, but you can only use up to two decimal figures. So, if you use 0.58 you can see a few pixels less at the bottom and at the top, compared to the original VFOV, while with with 0.59 you can see a few more pixels at the top and bottom, making the picture very slightly squashed compared to the original.
These however are very minimal differences, very very hard to even notice. I'm just putting here both 0.58 and 0.59 because none of them is a better value, they are both as close to the original as possible, you pick which one you prefer.

I do have tons of screenshots comparing the 4:3 game to both 16:9 with 0.75 HFOV and both 0.58 and 0.59 as VFOV.

As soon as I figure out where and how to post these screenshots properly, I'll add them.

In fact, I registered just to share with you guys all of this.


EDIT: okay, here are the screenshots.
For each picture there are 3 screeshots:
1) screenshot taken at 1920x1080 with HFOV set to 0.75 and VFOV set to 0.58 (a few less pixels at the top and bottom of the screen compared to the original picture)
2) screenshot taken at 1280x960 (my biggest 4:3 resolution allowed by the game) upscaled to 1440x1080 (so to have the same height for comparisong with the 1920x1080 screenshots)
3) screenshot taken at 1920x1080 with HFOV set to 0.75 and VFOV set to 0.59 (a few more "new" pixels at the top and bottom of the screen, making the picture very slightly squashed compared to the original)


By the way, how can I edit the report page to add the info? This one: http://www.wsgf.org/dr/silent-hill-4-room/en

Attached files


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 03 May 2012, 17:29 
Offline

Joined: 25 Jan 2012, 23:38
Posts: 9
Wow, thanks a lot man for all that effort. I was actually playing the game in 16:10 this whole time, so no wonder it looked a bit off. The hex editing (even with the ArtMoney program) really went over my head a bit.

I actually got interested in this solution because Konami failed to include this game in the recent Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3, which rather pissed me off.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jun 2012, 21:43 
Offline

Joined: 11 Jun 2012, 12:22
Posts: 1
I just used ArtMoney and was finally able to set my desired resolution to 1920x1080 by changing all width and height values from the loaded ArtMoney table to 1920 and 1080.
After that I tried to change HFOV and VFOV to 0.75 and 0.59 and set an X in front of them to fix it.
But there was no change of FOV in the game.
The resolution is right to 1920x1080, but I can't change the FOV, no matter how I try.
What made me wonder were the default values of FOV in the table: 0.00 and -0.00.
Shouldn't they be like 1.00 ?

SOLUTION:
I finally found out that the FOV adresses in the loaded table did not match with my Silent Hill 4.
After loading the table in ArtMoney I had to change the adresses as follows:
HFOV 012E3E74
VFOV 012E3E78
Then I changed the values for HFOV to 0.75 and VFOV to 0.59 (for 1920x1080 screen resolution) and freezed them.
Now everything works like a charm.

For all folks having problems changing the FOV like described here I highly suggest changing the FOV adresses after loading the table in ArtMoney!


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Width: 005D524CHeight:
PostPosted: 17 Aug 2012, 22:39 
Offline

Joined: 05 Aug 2012, 20:41
Posts: 3
Width: 005D524C
Height: 005D5250

Found the exact values with Cheat Engine 6.1

ArtMoney is needed to freeze them though!!!

Enjoy and tyvm for the FOV values!!

EDIT: Oddly these stopped working and now change even when frozen to ridiculous high values and freeze the game, yay. >:/

Well here's how I got it working, setting the values in Cheat Engine 6.1, locking them there, and then locking them from the table loaded in ArtMoney, my gawd what a pain in the ass for a fix, but yeah Resolution and FOV are working again, my gawd, what a nightmare. I'd rather just have a perma hex edit but no idea how to find it.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 09 Oct 2012, 04:12 
Offline

Joined: 09 Oct 2012, 01:55
Posts: 5
I have recently upgraded my (self-built) simpit to a triple-screen setup with three 27" 1920x1080 LED monitors as you'll see in the picture below:



Now I run my games in 5760x1080 (5880x1080 with bezel management) as one continuous game screen across all three monitors. My video card is one single NVIDIA GTX 670 than connects and runs all three monitors as well as my 61" TV at the same time. Both the simpit and the 3 screen desk are on casters so i can roll the desk in front of my couch as well for non-driving/flight type games.

I have uploaded pics of what Silent Hill 4 looks like, but it looks much better on 3 screens. As you can see you get a much wider FOV! Click on the link below each picture to see a higher-resolution picture:





http://imageshack.us/a/img713/3168/silenthill4triscreen1.jpg



http://imageshack.us/a/img152/7784/silenthill4triscreen2.jpg



http://imageshack.us/a/img571/2084/silenthill4triscreen3.jpg



http://imageshack.us/a/img248/4697/silenthill4triscreen4.jpg



http://imageshack.us/a/img836/9232/silenthill4triscreen5.jpg



http://imageshack.us/a/img267/2246/silenthill4triscreen6.jpg



http://imageshack.us/a/img443/4773/silenthill4triscreen7.jpg

Anything that is 2D (pre-rendered movies,menus,hud,etc) is stretched REALLY wide. The cut-scenes that use focus or depth of field effects also look a little wierd. Other than that it runs really well.

To get this to work is the same process as running it in 1920x1080,etc..

Just set your resolution to 5760x1080, and your FOV as 0.28, 0.20.

I also have a video on Youtube of SH4 running in ultra wide-screen. Unfortunately, the resolution had to be downsized, but if you go full-screen and change the quality options, its much better. Just click on the link below:

http://youtu.be/uWDFVsauM6w


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2015, 04:13 
Offline

Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 01:35
Posts: 3
hello!
i have widnows 10 64bit
and i used
sh4fov and sh4resolution
but when run game the image flashes in all game
any solution? thanks


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 27 May 2019, 12:33 
Offline

Joined: 21 Apr 2010, 20:43
Posts: 52
The ultrawide mode work fine with the fix by ThirteenAG.

https://imgur.com/a/1dxXxp1


Top
  
 
 [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group