Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 13 Jul 2020, 03:44

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 27 Jan 2010, 07:00 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7360


Widescreen Grade: C
Multi-monitor Grade: C

Read Full Detailed Report - Mass Effect 2

Sequel to Mass Effect. Carries on the adventures of Commander Shepard and his crew. One interesting aspect is that you can import save games from the original game, where decisions will impact the people and story in the sequel.







Top
  
 


 Post subject: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 00:34 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7360


Widescreen Grade: C
Ultra-Widescreen Grade: Incomplete
Multi-monitor Grade: C
4k Grade: Incomplete

Read Full Detailed Report - Mass Effect 2

Sequel to Mass Effect. Carries on the adventures of Commander Shepard and his crew. One interesting aspect is that you can import save games from the original game, where decisions will impact the people and story in the sequel.


4:3


16:10


16:9


3x1



Last edited by skipclarke on 29 Nov 2018, 21:30, edited 10 times in total.
Edit


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 27 Dec 2011, 02:50 
Offline

Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 23:51
Posts: 63
Great just found how to change the FOV for Mass Effect 2 without breaking the Zoom.

And it work like a charm for me :twothumb

Look here: -> http://www.gamespot.com/masseffect2workingtitle/forum/messages/platform/pc?topic_id=m-1-53263798&pid=944906

Before - After

What exactly does this mean though? Does it mean only when using a sniper or gun with a zoom do you have it fixed or is it always going to be fixed now? I'm assuming I need to change this value somewhere else as well.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2015, 09:47 
Offline

Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 23:51
Posts: 63
This game is having some menu display issues on a 21:9 display at 3440x1440.

While using Flawless Widescreen, the menus including in-game story choices are vert-.

While using Widescreen Fixer, I noticed it didn't show any menu items when enabled if I enabled it prior to the that screen displaying, but the background seemed to adjust with the FOV change. I did this using both manual and automatic screen recognition.

Running both Flawless Widescreen and Widescreen Fixer in tandem did not fix menu item issues.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2015, 22:24 
Offline

Joined: 18 Feb 2015, 22:17
Posts: 1
Hey guys. A fix for the cut off HUDs on 21:9 with Flawless Widescreen can be found here:

http://www.reddit.com/r/masseffect/comm ... _problems/

These fixes can be applied to both ME1 and ME2.

The only realy problem remaining now is having to deal with offset target reticles which are way off to the right. A thread about this has been also created at Bioware, with pictures attached and I hope someone could shed some light on the issue. it is at http://forum.bioware.com/topic/546232-f ... maybe-me1/

Hope this helps you guys :).


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 20 Feb 2015, 23:25 
Offline

Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 23:51
Posts: 63
Here's what I've got working

Primary resolution: 3440x1440.
Everything checked in Flawless Widescreen (In-Game FOV, FOV Limiting, Cinematic Aspect Ratio, Cinematics FOV, HUD Scaling).

Manually configured Flawless Widescreen
Code:
Enable Display Detection Override
Width: 3440
Height: 1440
HUD Width: 2560
HUD Height: 1440
HUD X: 437
HUD Y: 0


I also changed the FOV Fine Adjust to 20 from 0; this helps a lot with mouse sensitivity.

My bullets seem to be going exactly where I'm shooting, and I'm able to get headshots and see all the dialog bits. I didn't get a picture of the dialog, but it's working as well.

-------------------------------------------

And just for kicks, I added this in GamerSettings.ini so my mouse isn't super sensitive; although, dunno if it works yet or not:
Code:
[SFXGame.BioPlayerController]
RotationSensitivityLow=0.1


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2015, 18:24 
Offline

Joined: 25 Mar 2015, 18:14
Posts: 6
FW works with my Mass Effect 1 dvd retail version but not with my Mass Effect 2 dvd retail version, it cannot find the process even if the game is launched
Does anyone know if it is only working with the steam/origin version for me2 and not with the dvd version ?
Probably that the exe for digital version is different there is no securom or whatever protection there is on the dvd.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 28 Mar 2015, 17:40 
Offline

Joined: 25 Mar 2015, 18:14
Posts: 6
I will answer to myself maybe it will help someone.
FW works only with the english version of the game, I was playing in french and nothing, I reinstalled it in english and it woked.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 17 Jul 2015, 17:17 
Offline

Joined: 17 Jul 2015, 17:13
Posts: 1
any chance to set map only to central monitor to fix marker places or some other compromis like that?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect 2
PostPosted: 23 Jul 2015, 14:19 
Offline

Joined: 29 Mar 2008, 17:19
Posts: 205
Using Flawless Widescreen (thanks Hayden!), finally copied ME2 off my laptop to my desktop, and the game still holds up well and looks great at 5760x1080.

I still have two issues (not dealbreakers) and wondering if anyone has a fix:

1) The star map is not useable when in triple wide as the planetary markers do not align with the planets (they fly around all over the place).
Workaround: In game I change to 1920x1080 before using the star map, get where I need to go, save the game and exit. Then restore the 5760x1080 resolution (I have a bat file that copies back the GamerSettings.ini file) and enjoy.

2) On planetary missions (and sometimes on the ship), my team mates are floating heads and weapons, no bodies. Occasionally during the mission their bodies reappear. I got used to it, but no workaround.

Still an awesome game, 10/10 for me, and I can't wait to finish it and give ME3 a play through.

_________________
__________________________________________________________

Core i7-8086K @ 5.0 Ghz | H60 | Nvidia GTX 980 Ti 6GB | Soundblaster Z | Asus Z370-A

16GB DDR4 | Win10 x64 | 3x27" Asus IPS @ 5760x1080 | Samsung 970 1TB NVMe


Top
  
 
 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group