Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 07 Jun 2020, 07:41

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 16 Dec 2008, 23:37 
Offline

Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:47
Posts: 2
Hi,
I've downloaded a nocd executable sims 1 file, opened with HdX and I'm still having that problem. I copy and paste the code into the find tool and the editor can't find the secuence. I've never used an hex editor before so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong... Please help!

Thanks again.
Cristina


Top
  
 


 Post subject: Different byte sequence
PostPosted: 30 Jan 2009, 14:34 
Offline

Joined: 28 Aug 2007, 14:49
Posts: 5
I think the byte sequence is different for the different executables you get with each expansion pack. But I found a similar sequence at position 000ed21fh in the Superstars exe.

20030000C745E4580200006A016A0068A0316B008B4DECE86F510D000FB6C085C0740EC745F000040000C745E40003

I wanted the resolution 1680x1050:
[list][*]decimal 1680= hex 0690[/*:m]
[*]decimal 1050= hex 041a[/*:m][/list:u]so I changed
[list][*]0004 to 9006, and[/*:m]
[*]0003 to 1a04. [/*:m][/list:u]
This is giving me the screen resolution I wanted.

However, I'm finding the damaged options menu to be unusable at that resolution, and for some The Sims runs at about 3 fps on my machine (regardless of resolution). So YMMV.

EDIT: My copy of Makin' Magic arrived today, and the original patch is working fine at 1680x1050. MM even fixed my framerate issue. Otherwise, I was going to have to live with 1024x768 in a window, which also fixed the framerate issue, but isn't exactly widescreen.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2010, 05:44 
Offline

Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 20:43
Posts: 3
is ther possible to play whit 1024x576


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 16 Aug 2010, 19:07 
Offline

Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 20:43
Posts: 3
How to find the right hexadecimals, i don't undarstand please help me!!!!!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Aug 2010, 07:11 
Offline

Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 20:43
Posts: 3
Is it nobody thats read's tis topic anymore,PLZ! read i need some help :(


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 23 Aug 2010, 16:45 
Offline

Joined: 07 Jul 2007, 23:55
Posts: 2866
The Sims lowest default resolution is 800x600. I have no idea what will happen with a lower vertical resolution.

The hex values are in the second post.

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=18809






I don't have this installed but it has been so long since I did this I wonder if I ever checked the old Sim City resolution shortcut method? Maybe someone could try that if they have this game.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Sims
PostPosted: 03 May 2013, 08:07 
Offline

Joined: 03 May 2013, 08:03
Posts: 1
Hello.

I downloaded no-cd exe for The Sims Complete Collection, then downloaded HEX editor. When I try to find the numbers, it always finds nothing. "A pattern was not found." This sentence really drives me crazy.

Thank you for any reply.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Sims
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2015, 09:08 
Offline

Joined: 19 Apr 2015, 09:04
Posts: 1
Is there any way to fix the HUD and menu after I have converted the game to 1920x1080? It's almost impossible to read any information the way it is.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Sims
PostPosted: 09 Sep 2015, 16:44 
Offline

Joined: 09 Sep 2015, 16:23
Posts: 1
It doesn't seem like anyone is here to help anymore, but I'd like to report a problem.

I got the res to work and it was stunning, way better experience than with native res, and window mode doesn't work, so I really wanted to play like this, but I encountered one issue that I couldn't live with.
The items and information in the hud don't go away, they just overlap eachother as I go from build, buy and live mode, and in there moods relationships and so on.
I can barely read or see anything and don't feel like it's playable that way.

Image

I'm on Windows 10. I don't have any issues with native res other than that it forces me to do fullscreen adn looks ugly and stretched. I've tried changing and running both 800x600 and 1024x768 changed to 1920x1080, don't know if that makes a difference, but saw slight differences when I ran them, mainly some white squares flickering in and out in the loading screen.
I used the hex values 8007 for 1920 and 3804 for 1080 found on another forum, and followed the instructions from here very carefully.

Hope somebody who knows something shows up. I'll be checking back.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Sims
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2016, 02:25 
Offline

Joined: 05 Apr 2016, 17:42
Posts: 3
Hi! :wave:

I fixed the graphical bugs! I managed to modify the game files to make it all work in 1920x1080. Both the HUD and menus work as they should. This is how to do it (at your own risk):

1) Get a program which is capable of editing .FAR-files. I used FarOut which can be found here: http://www.paladins-place.org/FarOut156.zip

2) If you are using FarOut, you also need Visual Basic 6.0 Runtime Plus which is required for FarOut to work. Can be found here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/vb6extendedruntime/files/latest/download

3) Download 3_images.rar attached in this post and unpack it. These images are modified to fit 1920x1080.
(Sidenote: You can modify these images to work for other resolutions aswell. Make sure PanelBack.bmp is 220px shorter than your custom resolution width. I used GIMP because it preserves the .BMP-format needed. Make sure you check 'Run-Length Encoded' and 'Do not write color space information' while exporting your modified images.)

4) Locate this folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\Maxis\The Sims\UIGraphics

5) Make a backup of the following 3 files. Then move the 3 original files to a temporary place (I used the desktop):
  • UIGraphics.far
  • Res_CPanel.RT
  • Res_Nbhd.RT
6) Start FarOut.exe and open the file UIGraphics.far. Press 'Add entry' and add the 3 images (one by one) you downloaded earlier:
  • PanelBack.bmp
  • largeback.bmp
  • dlgframe_1024x768.bmp
Press 'Save' and save the file.

7) Now open Res_CPanel.RT using Notepad. Locate the following line:
Code:
{BITMAP,kUniversalCPBkg,"CPanel/Backgrounds/PanelBack.BMP"}
and replace it with
Code:
{BITMAP,kUniversalCPBkg,"PanelBack.BMP"}
Save the file.

8) Now open Res_Nbhd.RT using Notepad. Locate the following lines:
Code:
{RLEBMP,kLargeMask,"Downtown/LargeBack.bmp"}
{RLEBMP,kLargeMaskSS,"Studiotown/dlgframe_1024x768.bmp"}
and replace them with
Code:
{RLEBMP,kLargeMask,"LargeBack.bmp"}
{RLEBMP,kLargeMaskSS,"dlgframe_1024x768.bmp"}
Save the file.

9) Move the 3 modified files back to C:\Program Files (x86)\Maxis\The Sims\UIGraphics. Done! This should fix the graphical bugs on the HUD and in the menus.

I must say, it was not an easy task but I was determined to fix this. Practically no information on the web, lots of trial and error, compatibility issues etc.. But in the end I did it and I'm proud :D

Hope this help! :TrueWS:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
  
 
 [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group