Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 16 Jul 2024, 04:46

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 12:38 
Offline

Joined: 06 Sep 2006, 01:20
Posts: 228
When I access the site from IE there seems to be some call to Adobe Acrobat to the extent that I can't currently open the site on IE because it's generating a popup error message concerning Acrobat?

Access fine from Chrome - this is on two different PC's, different sites.


Top
  
 


 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 13:03 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7358
What is the exact error, and on what page?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 14:40 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2006, 05:01
Posts: 1993
Just my two cents, but "Foxit" is a much better PDF reader.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 16:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2006, 03:09
Posts: 1296
Thats odd I don't think I ever got that error before or had and issues.

@Abram it is arguable, Foxit on 7 64 RC and Vista 64 was so unstable, that you had to open a pdf page, let your comp lag out, hit back then hit forward again for it to work, Acrobat may be slow but atleast it isnt crash happy. (two pcs had this issue) (Firefox and Chrome)


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 17:01 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2003, 13:52
Posts: 5706
I don't run Foxit from within Firefox anyway. It's the plugin that's unstable.

And no, I've not had that happen either... I do have a system running IE8 with Acrobat installed, too...


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 18:34 
Offline

Joined: 28 Jun 2009, 22:17
Posts: 760
Just my two cents, but "Foxit" is a much better PDF reader.

+1 much lighter and does the job right


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 21:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 14 Nov 2006, 15:48
Posts: 2356
[quote]Just my two cents, but "Foxit" is a much better PDF reader.

+1 much lighter and does the job right

I've actually found that its getting too bloated for my needs, I'm switching to Sumatra PDF reader once I format.



http://blog.kowalczyk.info/software/sumatrapdf/index.html (Sites pretty hideous)


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 21:55 
Offline

Joined: 06 Sep 2006, 01:20
Posts: 228
What is the exact error, and on what page?


Can't remember the exact but it was a Windows modal dialog refering to a problem with Acrobat. Clicking ok closed IE.

Haven't had that error before but have had some form of dialog popup refering to Acrobat - has happened on the main page as well as linking to the forums directly - it's as if something is spawning acrobat to launch.

Haven't had an issue this evening but, looking in my task manager, acrord32.exe is running, it wasn't before. I thought it was just something screwy with my mime type registrations but then I had the error when accessing the site today from in work, that was XP, IE7 this is Vista IE8.

Odd.

EDIT: Yep, I'm getting it when clicking on the Forum button link. If I end acrord32.exe then click on the Forum button I get the popup informing me of potential program compatibility issues with acrobat (running 7) and vista (i.e. something it spawning acrobat), clicking Run to run acrobat anyway then loads the page. If I click cancel and prevent acrobat from running then the page and IE instance just hangs.

It's okay as long as the process is running but if I end it then I get the same thing on next link.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 22:03 
Offline

Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 05:14
Posts: 544
I've never had IE8 ask about using Foxit for this site.
Foxit is also stable as fuck on Vista Ultimate x64 and 7 Ultimate x64. >_>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Acrobat?
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 22:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2006, 03:09
Posts: 1296
Im gonna chok it down to a plugin issue, because it is not stable, it lags out more than acrobat.

Agreed though, I dont think I have ever had anything bug me about it. Acrobat, Foxit or Preview (which @dafox is probably the best pdf thing I have ever used, and image viewer, so fast so stable so smooth)


Top
  
 
 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group