Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
Last visit was: less than a minute ago It is currently 09 Aug 2020, 12:33

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 30 Sep 2010, 17:30 
Offline

Joined: 30 Sep 2010, 17:13
Posts: 4
Hello,

During some searching of gaming sites today came across this forum and thought I should join up. I work for BattleGoat Studios in Ancaster, Ontario, Canada. We make PC strategy games and have completed two titles;

* Supreme Ruler 2010
* Supreme Ruler 2020

We recently announced our third title, Supreme Ruler Cold War. I'm proud to say that once again we will be supporting many standard and wide screen resolutions. Our game runs really nicely on an i7 with 24" at 1920x1200.

Our games are able to support larger screen resolutions because we do not scale our graphics for the various sizes. The advantage is that as your screen gets larger you get more screen real estate. Very important in large strategy games like ours.

Cheers


Top
  
 


PostPosted: 01 Oct 2010, 13:01 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2005, 23:27
Posts: 1172
Good to hear it, but will it also support "triple wide" for example 5760x1200 resolutions properly?

_________________
P8Z68-V Pro | 2600K | HR02 | HD5850 | 2x4GB Vengeance LP | 128GB M4 + 6TB | X-Fi > HD595 | AX850 | Tai Chi | PB278Q | G110 + Deathadder 2013
P8Z77-V | 3570K | Mugen 2 | HD5850 | 2x4GB Vengeance LP | 500GB | X-750 | Fractal R3 | U2212HM | G110 + G400
P8H77-I | G860 | 4650 | 2x2GB XMS | 320GB | CX500 | Prodigy | T22B350EW | MX518
DC3217IYE | 1x4GB Vengeance | 64GB M4 | TX-42VT20E


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2010, 17:58 
Offline

Joined: 30 Sep 2010, 17:13
Posts: 4
It should already support it. I don't have the hardware to test with, but we've run the game in windowed mode and gotten it to span across two monitors successfully. The resolution settings are stored in the registry as separate X and Y values. As long as you put in a resolution supported by your system the game will run.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2010, 19:49 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 04:20
Posts: 2351
Location: Virginia
Good to hear it, but will it also support "triple wide" for example 5760x1200 resolutions properly?

Welcome to WSGF, but yes I have the above question as well.

_________________
System Core: | Intel Core i5-2500K + ASUS P8Z68-V + 16GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 MHz | Win7 x64 | MSI R7970 Lightning 3GB [1105/1400] |
Display: | 3 x Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC @ 7680x1600 | Dell u3011 |


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2010, 12:01 
Offline
Editors
Editors
User avatar

Joined: 24 Sep 2006, 16:57
Posts: 1317
Sorry guys, his post was queued up in moderation. He has answered the question :P

To Balthagor:
Can you not have the game populate the resolution list in-game from what is supported in the CCC/NCP/Windows resolution list? If the game will support the resolutions with a simple registry change, then having the list populate whatever your system can support would make it much more accessible!

_________________
Formerly eZ`

Follow me on twitter: @theg00seberry and find me on Steam


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2010, 12:05 
Offline

Joined: 30 Sep 2010, 17:13
Posts: 4
Not sure, I'll pass along the comment to our programmer. Thanks!


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2010, 20:02 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: 13 Oct 2003, 05:00
Posts: 7360
Thanks for stopping by. It's great to have a developer on the forum. As far as testing the game, you can always give out a couple of beta or test copies. ;-)


Top
  
 
PostPosted: 04 Oct 2010, 17:06 
Offline

Joined: 30 Sep 2010, 17:13
Posts: 4
Can you not have the game populate the resolution list in-game from what is supported in the CCC/NCP/Windows resolution list?


So I spoke to George (our programmer) who indicated that this list is notoriously unreliable as the video card often reports supporting lots of resolutions that the monitor cannot. We've just been trying to include as many resolutions in the game's pulldown list as possible and keep the registry support as fall back.

Thanks for stopping by. It's great to have a developer on the forum. As far as testing the game, you can always give out a couple of beta or test copies. ;-)

Well our last game didn't use a beta phase, but we do try and keep a presence on as many forums as possible, even if it's just stopping by a few times a year. It at least means we're accessible by PM if needed. If anyone has questions about the game, feel free to start a separate thread. The demo for the gold edition is full featured so you can certainly try before you buy.


Top
  
 
 [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group