Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 18:17

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Warlords Battlecry III
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2009, 03:27 

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on the forums here, so please let me know if I'm leaving any info out or any such thing.

I'm no expert at game modification or going through all the multitudinous ways of changing a game's resolution, I will admit that up front. However, because I have a widescreen monitor that runs in 1680x1050, I've had to become a fair hand at finding and making use of different programs or tweaking files to be able to run a game at that resolution. I recently downloaded Warlords Battlecry III from Impulse, as I hadn't played it in several years, and I remember it to be a great and engaging game. However, try as I might, I cannot find anyone who's created a method of implementing new resolutions for it, and I cannot find any files that would allow me to edit the resolution myself. A number of game files have a .xcr file extension, which seems to be unique to the game (or to the series), and if I try opening them with a text editor such as Notepad or WordPad, all I get is a bunch of gibberish in WordPad's case, and Notepad won't open it at all.

If there is anyone here on the forums that has any ideas about implementing new resolutions for Warlords Battlecry III, whatever methods they may be, I'd greatly appreciate input on the subject. Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

PostPosted: 19 Sep 2009, 03:37 
Editors
Editors

I found some info , its quite old stuff, but may work at 1680x1050.

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1794

PostPosted: 19 Sep 2009, 12:13 

Thanks for the link, now I just have to find what the Enable Overscan Compensation tweak is.

PostPosted: 19 Sep 2009, 12:20