Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 11:11

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 17 Jun 2013, 11:13 

Link to Warpalizer.com

This blog post is dedicated to my personal DIY curved screen. I made this screen to show the capabilities of Warpalizer together with a curved screen, for showing media on YouTube, showing customers and to learn more about this subject myself, as I'm pretty new to this. I will try my best to make a DIY post to show you that a curved screen does not have to be expensive. With small changes on this "design" you can make a screen in a corner. Please read on and do not hesitate to ask any questions.

Preparations

Start by measuring the desired room; make sure your girlfriend/wife is okay with you using the room. If not, buy wine/roses or take her out on a nice dinner. Alternatively, you could try this approach (I did):

Beg

My room of choice is 3x3m, so I decided to use half of the room. Imagine a circle that is 3m in diameter, cut it in half and you have a 180-degree half-circle that has 1.5m depth/radius. Please check that your projectors will fill the image both horizontally and vertically (I tried holding the projectors and mounts up against the roof many times to check). I used AutoCAD to draw everything, so I could use the measures in my drawing. (The measurements on the AutoCAD drawing is in millimeters)

Autocad1

Find your desired material of choice; I used 4mm MDF sheets, these can bend but still they are strong. These MDF sheets is 2.4x1.2m when purchased (in Norway), so you may have to do some cutting.
I marked on the walls where the sides of the screen was going to be, the middle of the screen and where the top/bottom of my screen was going to be.