Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 02 May 2024, 20:38

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3012 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 ... 302  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: helifax wrote:Casiotone
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:16 
Offline

Joined: 22 Oct 2010, 04:23
Posts: 115
[quote]I've decompiled some of the interface .swf files.

Here's what I know:


  • Most of the interface elements are positioned by calling the "Lock" method on the different MovieClips within each interface

  • The "Lock" method is defined in __Packages.Shared.GlobalFunc, inside the SetLockFunction method

  • The placements of each element are determined by Top-Right, Bottom-Left, etc. Each of these locations are defined based on the Stage's dimensions for the .swf movie itself

  • Given the last point, it either means we'll have to define the dimensions of the .swf file from inside the game itself, OR someone with the correct resources can try to edit and recompile the interface's .swf files after redefining the SetLockFunction method to use arbitrary dimensions.



TLDR: Don't bother playing with the .swf files unless you have experience recompiling them. It's not the cause (but could potentially be hacked to fix things).


I have modified the swf file that I believe is responsible for the menus:) by the look of the content. now something very interesting is that the scene size is 1280x720 which give a locked 1.77..8 aspect ratio. I don't believe we can change this aspect ratio from withing the game's memory.

Now the only problem I am having is recreating the damn BAS file....... I am not a fallout3 etc modder so I am having trouble here. Anyone can tell me how to do this?

Best Regards,
Helifax

Try renaming the Skyrim -Interface.bsa after unpacking it. Game launches and still runs so it looks like it's defaulting to the unpacked files now.


Top
 Profile  
 


PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:17 
Offline
Administrators
Administrators
User avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2009, 03:11
Posts: 1441
You're doing good work guys, keep it up. We all appreciate it and hope to pay it back somehow.

_________________
i5-2500K @ 4Ghz ° Asus P8Z68 ° GTX670 Windforce OC ° 8GB DDR3 RipjawsX ° 4x Viewsonic VA2703 ° Logitech G15 / G5 / G27 ° Razer Vespula ° TrackIR 5 ° Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:35 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2011, 14:18
Posts: 1232
[quote][quote]I've decompiled some of the interface .swf files.

Here's what I know:


  • Most of the interface elements are positioned by calling the "Lock" method on the different MovieClips within each interface

  • The "Lock" method is defined in __Packages.Shared.GlobalFunc, inside the SetLockFunction method

  • The placements of each element are determined by Top-Right, Bottom-Left, etc. Each of these locations are defined based on the Stage's dimensions for the .swf movie itself

  • Given the last point, it either means we'll have to define the dimensions of the .swf file from inside the game itself, OR someone with the correct resources can try to edit and recompile the interface's .swf files after redefining the SetLockFunction method to use arbitrary dimensions.



TLDR: Don't bother playing with the .swf files unless you have experience recompiling them. It's not the cause (but could potentially be hacked to fix things).


I have modified the swf file that I believe is responsible for the menus:) by the look of the content. now something very interesting is that the scene size is 1280x720 which give a locked 1.77..8 aspect ratio. I don't believe we can change this aspect ratio from withing the game's memory.

Now the only problem I am having is recreating the damn BAS file....... I am not a fallout3 etc modder so I am having trouble here. Anyone can tell me how to do this?

Best Regards,
Helifax

Try renaming the Skyrim -Interface.bsa after unpacking it. Game launches and still runs so it looks like it's defaulting to the unpacked files now.



YES!!! It worked...sort of:))) I could see it for like 2 seconds before my game crashed:))) (or I thought I saw it:)) ) It seems that the swf file was not properly created...so I need to work on the recreation of the SWF file.... (some more)
Thanks for the info;))

The sucky part is that the swf creation failed to missing resources...it looks like we need to decompile some more swf files....

_________________
WideScreen Fixer... Fixes your Surround problems to give a gorgeous 3D Surround Experience!
WideScreen Fixer

Only website to show TRUE 3D Vision Surround Gaming Videos(viewable by anyone) only at
3D Vision Surround Gallery

E-mail and Paypal (for people who wants it): [email protected]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:36 
Offline

Joined: 22 Oct 2010, 04:23
Posts: 115
Yeah... only issue I have with swf files is that when they reference so many classes like this they tend to break upon recompile.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thank you
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:38 
Offline

Joined: 12 Nov 2011, 01:34
Posts: 9
Thank you so much for all the hard work guys! I'm actually yelling out 'YES!' as I am reading this thread and seeing the progress your making!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:41 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2011, 14:18
Posts: 1232
yeah...crap... Looks like we need to decompile all the swf files..LOL

Hmm I am wondering about the other possibility to manipulate the size of the "scene" from within the game....

_________________
WideScreen Fixer... Fixes your Surround problems to give a gorgeous 3D Surround Experience!
WideScreen Fixer

Only website to show TRUE 3D Vision Surround Gaming Videos(viewable by anyone) only at
3D Vision Surround Gallery

E-mail and Paypal (for people who wants it): [email protected]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 22 Sep 2011, 19:52
Posts: 15
hoping for an actual fix when i wake up tommorow! :) keep up the good work guys!

_________________
NZXT H2 | Intel Core i5-2500K @ 3.3 GHz | Vengeance 8 GB @ 1333Mhz | ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev B3 | Asus Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU 1GB | Corsair HX650W | CM Hyper 212+ | Crucial M4 128 GB | 2x2TB HDD

Logitech G510 | Razer Deathadder Respawn | Steelseries Qck+ |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 01:59 
Offline

Joined: 11 Nov 2011, 21:02
Posts: 15
yeah...crap... Looks like we need to decompile all the swf files..LOL

Hmm I am wondering about the other possibility to manipulate the size of the "scene" from within the game....


If it helps, Skyrim uses Scaleform to render the Flash movies. I don't know for certain, but if Scaleform renders the movies to a texture, you might be able to alter the texture or the geometry that it's being rendered to in order to force a Scene resize of the .swf file itself. Here's the Scaleform docs in case it helps: http://gameware.autodesk.com/scaleform/support/documentation

Though I'm a programmer, and have done some game development, I've never done any modding (other than installing a few), so I'm not certain what's feasible with the resources we have. I'd be happy to help code up a solution if anyone has ideas of where to start.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 02:12 
Offline

Joined: 22 Oct 2010, 04:23
Posts: 115
yeah...crap... Looks like we need to decompile all the swf files..LOL

Hmm I am wondering about the other possibility to manipulate the size of the "scene" from within the game....


I'm going to decompile all the SWF and dump them into the same root directory. That way all the .fla files reference the same actionscript files and we can simply edit 1 file and recompile all the swfs with that change. I'll post the zip of the files in a bit on my website.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 12 Nov 2011, 02:15 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2011, 14:18
Posts: 1232
[quote]yeah...crap... Looks like we need to decompile all the swf files..LOL

Hmm I am wondering about the other possibility to manipulate the size of the "scene" from within the game....


I'm going to decompile all the SWF and dump them into the same root directory. That way all the .fla files reference the same actionscript files and we can simply edit 1 file and recompile all the swfs with that change. I'll post the zip of the files in a bit on my website.

I tried that I still have alot of missing links....maybe it requires resources outside the inferface.bas file....:|

_________________
WideScreen Fixer... Fixes your Surround problems to give a gorgeous 3D Surround Experience!
WideScreen Fixer

Only website to show TRUE 3D Vision Surround Gaming Videos(viewable by anyone) only at
3D Vision Surround Gallery

E-mail and Paypal (for people who wants it): [email protected]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3012 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 ... 302  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group